In This Section      

Archives - Alpha Docs

Winter 2011

Alpha Docs

Date: February 18, 2011

Marilyn Albert, professor and director of the Division of Cognitive Neuroscience in the Department of Neurology, received the 2010 Alzheimer’s Association’s Zaven Khachaturian Award, which recognizes “an individual whose compelling vision, selfless dedication, and extraordinary achievement have significantly advanced the field of Alzheimer science.” 

Gregory Bergey, professor of neurology and director of the Johns Hopkins Epilepsy Center, has received the American Epilepsy Society’s 2010 Service Award. Co-director of  Hopkins’ Epilepsy Research Laboratory, Bergey was honored for work on epilepsy and long record of service to the national epilepsy society.

William Bishai, professor of medicine and co-director of the Center for Tuberculosis Research, has been appointed the first permanent director of the KwaZulu-Natal Research Institute for Tuberculosis and HIV (K-RITH) at the University of KwaZulu-Natal in Durban, South Africa. Bishai will remain on the faculty and continue his research at Hopkins even as he undertakes the post in South Africa.

Duke Cameron, professor of cardiac surgery, has been named the new cardiac surgeon in charge at Hopkins Hospital and chief of the Division of Cardiac Surgery in the School of Medicine after having served as interim head of the division since 2009. Cameron also will be co-director of Hopkins’ Heart and Vascular Institute, director of The Dana and Albert “Cubby” Broccoli Center for Aortic Diseases, director of pediatric cardiac surgery, and the James T. Dresher, Sr., Professor of Surgery.

Patricia Charache, professor of pathology, medicine, and oncology, has received the bioMérieux Sonnenwirth Award from the American Society of Microbiology for her distinguished leadership in the field.

Steven Cohen, associate professor of anesthesiology/critical care medicine, has been awarded the Order of Military Medical Merit for his exceptional service in the Army Medical Department. A colonel in the U.S. Army, Cohen serves as director of pain research at Walter Reed Army Medical Center and as chief of anesthesia and operative services at the 48th Combat Support Hospital in Ft. Meade, Md.

Todd Dorman, associate dean and director, Continuing Medical Education, and professor and vice chair of anesthesiology and critical care medicine, has been elected president of the Society for Academic Continuing Medical Education. He also is president of the American Society of Critical Care Anesthesiologists.

Henry Halperin, associate professor of cardiology and biomedical engineering and director of the Peter Belfer Cardiac Mechanics Laboratory and Hopkins Hospital’s CPR team, has received a Distinguished Scientist Award from the American Heart Association for his work in advancing the understanding of cardiovascular disease and stroke.

Jennifer Hayashi, assistant professor of geriatrics, director of the Johns Hopkins Medicine Elder House Call Program, and associate director of the internal medicine residency program, has received the American Academy of Home Care Physicians’ highest honor, the Eric Baron House Call Doctor of the Year Award.

Gary Lees, associate professor, director of the Department of Art as Applied to Medicine and head of the graduate program in medical and biological illustration, has received the 2010 Brödel Award for Excellence in Education from the Association of Medical Illustrators.

Stephen Milner, professor of plastic surgery, pediatrics, and dermatology and director of the Johns Hopkins Burn Center, has received an honorary Doctor of Science from the University of Glamorgan in Wales, U.K. Milner, who is chief of the burns division and head of plastic surgery at Johns Hopkins Bayview, was recognized for his career as a surgeon and exceptional contributions to medicine.

Bashir Zikria, assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery, served as team physician for the Afghanistan national team that participated in the 16th annual Asian games, a quadrennial, multinational sports event held last November in Guangzhou, China.