In This Section      

Archives - Class Notes

Fall 2012

Class Notes

Date: September 1, 2012


Gene Blank, of Portland, Ore., has publishedUSMC 457703, his memoir
of combat in the Pacific during World War II.

Herbert Fred, of Houston, Texas, professor of internal medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center, presented the Special Dean's Lecture at The University of Texas Medical School at Houston.


David Paton, of East Hampton, N.Y., has received the 2012 Sixth Form Leadership Award from The Hill School, the 161-year-old prep school from which he graduated in 1948. Paton, a member of the Wilmer Eye Institute faculty from 1964 to 1970 and also dean of admissions for the School of Medicine for four years, is past chairman of the American Board of Ophthalmology. He also is the founder and former medical director of Project ORBIS International, the world’s only flying eye hospital.


Robert Ruben, of Bronx, N.Y., is chair of the Section on the History of Medicine and Public Health at the New York Academy of Medicine.


John Cameron, of Baltimore, Alfred Blalock Distinguished Service Professor of Surgery in the School of Medicine, was the first visiting professor and leader of the California-based Sansum Clinic’s Surgical Academic Week.


S. Robert Lathan Jr., of Atlanta, Ga., has published a book about his grandfather: Grand Old Man, Life of Samuel Boston Lathan—the last surviving Confederate veteran of Chester, S.C. “Sadly, I was only one year old when my grandfather died at age 96,” notes Lathan, who previously published The History of South Carolina, a collection of the writings of his great uncle, the Reverend Robert Lathan.


Thomas Vander Salm, of Salem, Mass., chief of cardiac surgery at North Shore Medical Center Heart Center and clinical professor of surgery at Harvard Medical School, has been named the 2012 Community Clinician of the Year by his physician peers of the Essex South District Medical Society.


Richard Bransford, of Kijabe, Kenya, has received the American College of Surgeons’ 2012 Surgical Humanitarian Award in recognition of his more than three decades of service in Africa, primarily in the African Inland Church (AIC) Kijabe Hospital. In 2004, he co-founded a 67-bed facility, BethanyKids at Kijabe Hospital, which has become known widely in Africa as a referral center for disabled children and is supported by a network of 14 outreach clinics across Kenya.


Richard Bensinger, of Seattle, Wash., recently finished a one-year term as president of King County Medical Society.


Mark Rockoff, of Hingham, Mass., has been elected to a one-year term as president of the American Board of Anesthesiology. He is also vice-chairman of the Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine at Children’s Hospital Boston and professor of anesthesia at Harvard Medical School.


Lawrence Wasser, of Louisville, Ky., is director of the Newborn Nursery at the University of Louisville Hospital and on the faculty of the Louisville School of Medicine in general pediatrics.


Shelby Wilkes, of Atlanta, Ga., was chosen as the 2012 Male Alumnus of the Year for America's Historically Black Colleges and Universities. Wilkes is a vitreoretinal surgeon who specializes in treating diseases of the retina and vitreous humor, including diabetic retinopathy.


Kenneth Laws, of Nashville, Tenn., has joined the five-hospital Saint Thomas Health system as a cardiothoracic surgeon and has helped to establish a new practice, Heart, Lung & Vascular Surgery.


Kenneth Tyler, of Denver, Colo., was elected as a 2012 Academy Fellow of the American Academy for Microbiology. 


Scott Lippman, formerly of Houston, Texas, was named director of Moores Cancer Center at University of California, San Diego. He is nationally known for his molecular studies aimed at determining cancer risk and at developing methods for personalized treatment and prevention of cancer.  


W. P. Andrew Lee, of Baltimore, professor and director of Hopkins’ Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, was recently elected as chair of the American Board of Plastic Surgery, Inc.


Joseph Marotta, of Troy, N.Y., has established Medicus in Christi, Ltd., a non-profit organization that provides medical care, equipment, and training to impoverished peoples in the developing world. Marotta has also established an orthopedic center in Ghana, West Africa.


Ralph Hruban, of Baltimore, professor of pathology and oncology in the School of Medicine, has begun posting a series of “Osler Minutes” on the Department of Pathology’s website:

Charles Sawyers of New York, N.Y., is president-elect of the 34,000-member American Association for Cancer Research. Sawyers is chair of the Human Oncology and Pathogenesis Program at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator. He also is a professor in the cell and developmental biology program in the Department of Medicine at Cornell’s Weill School of Medicine.


Carolyn Cidis Meltzer, of Decatur, Ga., William P. Timmie Professor and Chair of Radiology and Imaging Sciences and associate dean of research at Emory University’s School of Medicine, was honored for her accomplishments at Emory’s Second Annual Women’s History Month program. Meltzer led the clinical evaluation of the world’s first PET/CT scanner.


Jeffrey Wiese, of New Orleans, La., has been elected to the Board of Regents of the American College of Physicians. He is a professor of medicine and associate dean of graduate medical education at Tulane University.


Jennifer Arnold, of Houston, Texas, one of the stars of the popular TV programThe Little Couple, was the keynote speaker at the University of Texas Medical Branch School of Medicine commencement ceremony. Arnold is medical director of the Pediatric Simulation Center at Texas Children’s Hospital and assistant professor of pediatrics at Baylor College of Medicine.