In This Section      
Print This Page

Dome - Who/What

May 2011


Date: May 20, 2011

Cardiac Centers

The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Howard County General Hospital and Suburban Hospital have been designated by Maryland’s Institute for Emergency Medical Services Systems (MIEMSS) as cardiac intervention centers for emergency heart attack treatment. The MIEMSS designation recognizes that each of these Hopkins Medicine hospitals has demonstrated that it provides rapid assessment and the most appropriate, lifesaving treatment for people suffering heart attacks.   

New BSi Director

Jeffrey Rothstein, M.D., Ph.D., professor of neurology and director of the Robert Packard Center for ALS Research, has been named director of Hopkins’ Brain Science Institute. He succeeds the four-year-old institute’s founder, John “Jack” Griffin, M.D., who died last month after a long illness.


Soumyadipta Acharya, M.D., Ph.D., assistant research professor and director of the graduate program for the Center for Bioengineering Innovation and Design, has been named one of three 2011 winners of the Olympus Innovation Program’s Emerging Educational Leader Award. The award recognizes Acharya’s development and implementation of student programs in health care innovation and entrepreneurship.

Edward Bernacki, M.D., M.P.H., associate professor of medicine, director of the Division of Occupational Medicine and executive director of health, safety and environment at The Johns Hopkins University and Hospital, has received the Robert A. Kehoe Award of Merit from the American Occupational Health Conference.

Pamela Guerrerio, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of pediatrics, has received the American Academy of Asthma, Allergy & Immunology’s ARTrust award for her ongoing research in allergy and immunology. The award provides $300,000 over three years to fund her work on improving treatments and discovering new therapies for immunologic disorders.

James Harris, M.D., professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences, pediatrics and mental health, has received the Leon Eisenberg Award from the Mental Health & Developmental Disabilities Program at the Children’s Hospital in Boston and Harvard Medical School. The award recognizes Harris’ leadership in the field.

Mouen Khashab, M.D., assistant professor and director of therapeutic endoscopy, has been named one of the top reviewers of 2010 for the American Society of Gastrointestinal Endoscopy’s monthly, peer-reviewed journal, Gastrointestinal Endoscopy. It is the leading international publication on the specialty.

James Scheulen, M.B.A., chief administrative officer for the Department of Emergency Medicine, has been elected chairman of the Academy of Academic Administrators in Emergency Medicine, which will bring together administrators from academic hospitals across the country to share information on quality, safety, finance and best operational practices within emergency medicine.

Lillie Shockney, R.N., B.S., M.A.S., associate professor and administrative director of the Avon Foundation Breast Center, has received the 2010 National Award from the Amoena Corporation for outstanding contributions to the breast center industry. Shockney also has been named editor in chief of the new Journal of Oncology Navigation and Survivorship and is serving on the leadership council of the Academy of Oncology Nurse Navigators.

Cornelia Trimble, M.D., associate professor of gynecology and obstetrics, oncology and pathology, has been appointed to a four-year term as a member of the NIH’s Cancer Immunopathology and Immunotherapy Study Section, Center for Scientific Review. The NIH study sections review grant applications and make recommendations on them to the appropriate NIH national advisory council or board.

Chi Van Dang, M.D., Ph.D., professor of medicine, cell biology, oncology and pathology, and vice dean for research, has been elected a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dang was honored for his extensive contributions to medicine and medical research

Patrick Walsh, M.D., university distinguished service professor of urology and former director of the Brady Urological Institute, has received the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons’ Keyes Medal, the highest honor in the urology field. Walsh is renowned for his pioneering work in developing the nerve-sparing, anatomical approach to radical prostatectomy.


Johns Hopkins Medicine educational and promotional materials received several top awards from the Maryland chapter of the Society for Health Care Strategy and Market Development. Awards of Excellence went to the Heart & Vascular Institute advertising campaign created by Jennifer Freas and Elisa Perry and the Head & Neck Cancer Screenings marketing program developed by Sharon Applestein and Morag Muirhead in Marketing and Communications. Karen Tong of Johns Hopkins Bayview’s Office of Communications and Public Affairs received a Best in Show and Award of Excellence for an intraoperative CT and new operating rooms campaign. She also joined colleagues Sandy Reckert-Reusing, Meghan Rossbach, Katie Kuehn, Jessica McQuay and Kristin Mears in receiving an Award of Excellence for Johns Hopkins Bayview Health &Wellness News. Mary Patton of Howard County General Hospital received an Award of Merit for the “Bringing Baby Home” campaign. 


Ilene Browner, M.D., instructor in geriatric oncology, Michael Crocetti, M.D., assistant professor and director of outpatient pediatrics, and Judy Huang, M.D., associate professor and vice chair and chief of cerebrovascular neurosurgery, have been inducted into the Miller-Coulson Academy of Clinical Excellence. The academy recognizes physicians who are committed to clinical excellence for the benefit of patients and their communities.

John Burton, M.D., professor and former director of geriatrics, and Allan Gelber, M.D., associate professor of rheumatology, were inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society.

Dana Moore, R.N., M.S., C.S.H.A., has been named director of regulatory affairs. She will be responsible for ensuring compliance with federal, state and Joint Commission regulations, as well as specialty program verifications. 


Susan Groman, B.S., R.N., clinical education program manager for critical care, and Catherine Miller, M.S.N., C.C.R.N., who specializes in educating county residents about stroke warning signs, have received 2011 Healthcare Hero Awards from The Daily Record, Maryland’s legal and business newspaper.


Mobile Medical Care Inc., a nonprofit organization that provides health care to the uninsured, working poor and homeless in Montgomery County, has given its 2011 Partner of the Year Award to Suburban. The award recognizes the longstanding collaboration between Suburban and Mobile Medical to launch initiatives that provide specialty clinic care to the underserved.