In This Section      

Dome - Who/What

January 2011


Date: January 5, 2011


East Baltimore

Daniel Ashby, M.S., F.A.S.H.P., senior director of Pharmacy for The Johns Hopkins Hospital, was honored by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) for his sustained efforts to advance the profession with the organization’s Board of Directors Award for Distinguished Leadership in Health-System Pharmacy Practice. Ashby received the award during the opening session of ASHP’s 45th Midyear Clinical Meeting in Anaheim, Calif. The society cited Ashby for championing the expansion of clinical pharmacy services, implementing innovative technologies, and developing educational programs for pharmacists, pharmacy students, and pharmacy technicians.

Debra Case, R.N., M.S.N., has been promoted to the newly created position of director of clinical education. Case, whose new job begins immediately, will be responsible for overseeing the orientation and training of all clinical professionals once the new clinical buildings opens. She will continue managing the training for the clinical information systems, and will maintain her job as assistant director of nursing education until a successor for her in that position can be found.

Howard Francis, M.D., associate professor and resident program director in the Department of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery, has been honored for his two-year service as inaugural director of the Johns Hopkins Hospital Ambulatory Quality and Patiety Safety Task Force (AQPS). Marlis Gonzalez-Fernandez, M.D., assistant professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation, and Renay Tyler, D.N.P., R.N., A.C.N.P., director of nursing for Hopkins Hospital’s ambulatory services, have been named the new co-chairs of AQPS.

Bashir Zikria, M.D., M.Sc., assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery, served as the physician for the Afghanistan national team that participated in the Asian Games, which took place in Guangzho, China, from Nov. 12 through Nov. 27. Forty-five nations fielded teams that competed in 42 sports at the event. Zikria also is a team physician for Hopkins’ Department of Athletics and for the Baltimore Orioles.

Business Development

Mark Shaver, M.B.A., has been promoted to senior director of business development and strategic alliances, a newly created unit within Johns Hopkins Medicine. Shaver will guide the effort to explore, develop, expand and manage business opportunities for Hopkins Medicine in collaboration with corporate and strategic partners. Prior to this promotion, Shaver had served as head of Strategic Alliances for Johns Hopkins Medicine International and also was a business adviser to the Department of Radiology.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Susan Kraeuter, R.N., M.S., has been promoted to patient care manager of the MICU and CICU. Kraeuter has more than 30 years’ experience in adult medical-surgical and critical care nursing, serving prior to Hopkins as director of critical care nursing at Providence Hospital. Before that, she spent more than 25 years in various leadership positions at St. Agnes Hospital, managing its adult intensive care unit and coronary care unit.

Rachel Moseley, R.N., W.O.C.N., and Cynthia Walker, R.N., W.O.C.N., have received Educator of the Year Awards for their work in educating staff, coordinating the wound team and developing projects that decreased the incidence of pressure ulcers among inpatients. Their work was cited for creativity, engagement of staff, and the outcomes they achieved.

Cheryl Woolford, B.S.N., R.N., has been appointed patient care manager for the neurosciences unit and the neurosciences critical care unit. She has been acting manager of these units since September 2009. Woolford has 10 years of nursing experience in the neurosciences unit at Hopkins Bayview and three years of experience as an emergency room nurse at Sinai Hospital.

Howard County General Hospital

Susan Groman, B.S., R.N., administrator of the hospital’s stroke program, has been elected president of the Maryland Stroke Coordinator Consortium. The consortium, which includes representatives from hospital stroke programs statewide, shares information about best practices. Under Groman’s guidance, HCGH has been recognized by the American Heart Association for improving stroke outcomes.

Suburban Hospital

Robert Rothstein, M.D., a quarter-century veteran of Suburban’s emergency medicine department, has been appointed vice president of medical affairs. After serving as interim vice president for several months, he was the unanimous choice of the search committee, which comprised medical staff leadership, hospital administration and community-based physicians. Rothstein, who earned his medical degree from Northwestern University Medical School, has been chairman of emergency medicine at Suburban since 1986. His replacement in that position is Philip Strauss, M.D., who’s been a member of the department for 17 years and its assistant director for the past decade.

The intensive care unit has received a Beacon Award for Critical Care Excellence from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN). The award recognizes the top critical care units in the nation. The AACN citation praises the unit’s achievements in recruitment and retention of staff; education, training and mentoring; research and evidence-based practice; patient outcomes, leadership and organization ethics; and its healing environment.

The MobileMed/NIH Heart Clinic has been named by Jackson Healthcare a finalist in the 2010 Hospital Charitable Service Awards. The clinic, now in its fourth year, was one of 33 programs chosen as a finalist from a group of 110 nominees. Awards chairman Charles Evans says that the work of the clinic “epitomizes the spirit of these awards.”

Articles in this Issue

Cultural Competency

Our Human Resources

Around Hopkins Medicine