In This Section      
Print This Page

Dome - Who/What

February 2011


Date: February 7, 2011

AAAS Fellows

Se-Jin Lee, M.D., Ph.D., professor of molecular biology and genetics, and Mark Mattson, Ph.D., professor of neuroscience, have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, one of the top scientific honors in the nation. Lee was elected for his discovery of the protein hormone myostatin, a master regulator of skeletal muscle mass and homeostasis. Mattson, chief of the Laboratory of Neurosciences at the National Institute on Aging, was elected for his discoveries that revealed the cellular mechanisms involved in the ability of neurons to adapt during processes such as learning or injury, as well as his findings on the development of neurodegenerative disorders.

East Baltimore

The East Baltimore campus has been chosen as one of just 10 sites to receive the first DC/Maryland Regional Breastfeeding-Friendly Workplace Recognition Award. The Maryland Breastfeeding Coalition, created the award to honor local employers who offer breastfeeding support, education, time and space for new mothers to breastfeed and/or pump breast milk in the workplace. The East Baltimore campus received the award at the highest level, Gold.   

John Bartlett, M.D., professor of medicine and former head of the Division of Infectious Diseases, has been appointed to the newly established Scientific Advisory Board for the President’s Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief.

Daniel Berkowitz, M.D.BCh, professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine, and Robert Hienz, Ph.D., associate professor of behavioral biology, have been appointed to leadership posts in the National Space Biomedical Research Institute in Houston, Texas. Berkowitz will be associate leader of the cardiovascular alterations team studying the effect of long-duration spaceflight on the heart and blood vessels. Hienz, a member of the behavioral biology research center at Johns Hopkins Bayview, will be associate leader of the psychological factors team, seeking to identify how stress and isolation affect crew health, safety and productivity during long-duration space missions.

Peter Burger, M.D., professor of pathology, neurosurgery and oncology and director of surgical neuropathology, has received the NeuroOncology Lifetime Achievement Award from the Montreal Neurological Institute and Hospital at McGill University.

Michael Choti, M.D., M.B.A., professor of surgery and oncology, vice director of the Department of Surgery and director of the Johns Hopkins Colorectal Center, has become president of the International Society of Gastrointestinal Oncology.

Steven Goodman, M.D., M.H.S., Ph.D., professor of oncology, epidemiology, pediatrics and biostatistics, has been appointed to the 15-member methodology committee of the new federal Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute.

Anthony Kalloo, M.D., professor of medicine and director of the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, has been named one of the 75 best gastroenterologists in America by Becker’s ASC Review, a Chicago-based publication. The list was created through extensive research and recommendations from around the nation. The top gastroenterologists are chosen for their leadership of the work at their respective organizations.

Jun Liu, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology, molecular sciences and oncology and director of the Johns Hopkins Drug Library, has received a National Institutes of Health Director’s Pioneer Award for his internationally recognized creativity in pharmacological research and discovery. 

Rabbi Tsvi Schur has received the Rabbinical Council of America’s 2011 Health Care Chaplain of the Year Award. Schur has served as a Jewish chaplain for more than 30 years and is an integral member of the spiritual care team in the Department of Pastoral Care. 

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Susan Kraeuter, R.N., M.S., has been appointed patient care manager of the medical intensive care unit and cardiac intensive care unit. She has more than 30 years’ experience in adult medical-surgical and critical care nursing. 

Howard County General Hospital

Professional staff officers

Francis Chidian, M.D., pulmonologist and critical care specialist, has been named president of the 800-member professional staff for 2011; anesthesiologist Clarita Frazier, M.D., is vice president; and oncologist and hematologist Nicholas Koutrelakos, M.D., is the new secretary/treasurer. Staci Payne, B.S.N., R.N., has been promoted to nurse manager of the short stay unit and Tom Schmidt, B.S.N., R.N., has been promoted to nurse manager of the One North/Psychiatric Unit.

The Maryland Health Commission recognized Howard County General Hospital as the best in the state in reducing central line-associated bloodstream infections. Since Jan. 3, 2009, the hospital eliminated all incidents of the infection. 

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians

Canton Crossing and Wyman Park have joined Water’s Edge in Belcamp as Community Physician centers to receive top ranking from the National Committee for Quality Assurance for excellent patient-centered care. Canton Crossing and Wyman Park were named Patient-Centered Medical Home Level 3 sites, the top designation. NCQA is a non-profit dedicated to improving health care quality nationwide. Each center met strenuous criteria in nine categories, such as effective communication and superior use of technology.

Sibley Memorial Hospital

Thomas Masterson, M.D., an internist, has been elected Sibley Memorial Hospital’s new president of the medical staff.
Suburban Hospital

Yvonne D’Arcy, M.S., C.R.N.P., C.N.P., a pain management and palliative care nurse practitioner, has received the Book of the Year Award from the American Journal of Nursing for her text, How to Manage Pain in the Elderly, published by Sigma Theta Tau, the international honor society of nursing. 

Johns Hopkins Medicine International

Timothy Dentry, M.B.A., vice president for Global Services, has been named chief executive officer of Al Rahba Hospital, a 163-bed, Hopkins-managed secondary-care facility in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Bassam Sayad, M.B.A., managing director for Middle East/North Africa, Global Services, has been named chief operating officer of Corniche Hospital, a 235-bed, Hopkins-managed obstetrics and neonatology specialty facility in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.

Irma Purisch, M.B.A., director of business development for the Center for Innovation in Quality Patient Care, Johns Hopkins Medicine, has been named managing director for the Trinidad and Tobago Health Sciences Initiative, a strategic collaboration between JHI and organizations including the University of Trinidad and Tobago, the University of the West Indies and Trinidad and Tobago’s ministries of Health and of Science, Technology and Tertiary Education.

Paul Ladenson, M.D., professor of endocrinology, medicine, pathology, oncology, radiology and international health, has been named director of the Trinidad and Tobago Health Science Initiative diabetes outreach program. Ladenson succeeds former director Christopher Saudek, M.D., the prominent endocrinologist and pioneer of the implantable insulin pump, who died in October.