In This Section      

Dome - Who/What

Dome November 2014


Date: November 6, 2014

Institute of Medicine Honors

Daniel Drachman, M.D., professor of neuroimmunology and a leading authority on myasthenia gravis and other neuromuscular diseases, has been elected to the Institute of Medicine. Also elected this year were Chris Beyrer, M.D., of the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, and Joshua Sharfstein, M.D., secretary of the Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene, who will join the school of public health in January. 

Three New Neurosurgery Professorships

Henry Brem, M.D., professor and director of the Department of Neurosurgery, has been honored with the creation of the Henry Brem Professorship in Neurosurgery. Largely funded with two leadership gifts, each exceeding $1 million, from Dr. Irving and Florence Sherman, and from Josh and Genine Fidler, in addition to several other donors, the professorship honors Brem’s service as director of the department and his innovative brain tumor research. The inaugural recipient of another newly endowed chair, the George J. Heuer Professorship in Neurosurgery, is Allan Belzberg, M.D., clinical director of the Johns Hopkins Neurosurgery Pain Research Institute. He also is director of the Peripheral Nerve Center. Heuer was among The Johns Hopkins Hospital’s founding fathers of modern neurosurgery. The inaugural recipient of the new Solomon H. Snyder Professorship in Neurosurgery is Michael Caterina, M.D., Ph.D., director of the Neurosurgery Pain Research Institute. Snyder, a National Medal of Science and Lasker Award recipient, was the founding director of what is now the Solomon H. Snyder Department of Neuroscience and remains active on the faculty.

Pediatrics Honors

Maria Trent, M.D., clinician and researcher in the Division of General Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine, has been named a 2014 Pediatrician of the Year by the Maryland Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. Trent’s research focuses on innovative approaches to teen reproductive health and sexually transmitted infections. Allen Walker, M.D., former director of pediatric emergency medicine, received the chapter’s Lifetime Achievement Award. Walker, who retired in 2011, established the Johns Hopkins Hospital Child Protection Team, which focuses on the identification and care of abused and neglected children. 

Myron Yaster, M.D., a pediatric anesthesiologist at the Johns Hopkins Children’s Center, has been chosen to receive the inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Pediatric Anesthesia. He’s being honored for his work to illuminate modern-day understanding of neonatal pain.

Bladder Cancer Research Grants

Six bladder cancer experts were recently awarded research grants totaling $250,000 from the newly created Johns Hopkins Greenberg Bladder Cancer Institute. Awardees from Johns Hopkins Medicine include Armine Smith, M.D., assistant professor of urology; George Netto, M.D., professor of pathology; and Trinity Bivalacqua, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of urology. The institute was established through a landmark gift from Baltimore-area commercial real estate developer Erwin Greenberg and his wife, Stephanie Cooper Greenberg. The Greenbergs’ gift is the largest designated bladder cancer research gift ever given to the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. 

Chief Patient Experience Officer

Lisa Allen, Ph.D., has been named the inaugural chief patient experience officer for Johns Hopkins Medicine. In this newly created position, Allen will work closely with leaders and frontline medical staff across Johns Hopkins Medicine to implement a systemwide strategy that supports the active involvement of patients and their families in their medical treatment. Allen has more than 25 years’ experience in patient- and family-centered care. Most recently, she was vice president for quality, patient experience and patient safety with Steward Health Care System, an 11-hospital, community-based accountable care organization serving more than 1 million patients annually throughout Massachusetts.  

Online Health Library Recognition

Johns Hopkins Medicine Marketing and Communications received a Thoth Award from the Public Relations Society of America’s National Capital Chapter for the creation of the online Health Library, available on The award cited excellence in providing visitors, patients and caregivers with original, user-friendly content from Johns Hopkins faculty.


Rebecca Aslakson, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine, has received two national awards for exceptional research in palliative medicine. A member of the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center’s Palliative Care and Pain Program, as well as the Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality, Aslakson was awarded the 2014 Presidential Scholar Award from the American Society of Anesthesiologists and the 2015 Early Career Investigator Award from the American Academy of Hospice and Palliative Medicine. 

Pablo Celnik, M.D., director of the Human Brain Physiology and Stimulation Laboratory, has been named interim director of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. He assumes the post following the decision of Jeffrey Palmer, M.D., to retire from the directorship and his role as The Johns Hopkins Hospital’s physiatrist-in-chief, to which he was appointed in 2004. Palmer will remain on the faculty as a full-time professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation. A search is underway for a permanent successor.

Ronald Werthman, M.A., senior vice president of finance/treasurer and chief financial officer of the Johns Hopkins Health System, has been named to Becker’s Hospital Review’s 2014 list of 150 Hospital and Health System CFOs to Know. Since 1993, under his leadership, The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System achieved the highest operating margins in their history. 


Rosalind Payne has been promoted to manager of patient experience. In her new position, she will work to meet patient- and family-centered care strategic goals by focusing on data management and by consulting with medical center leaders and care providers. A member of the medical center’s human resources office since 2001, Payne most recently was a senior training specialist.

Kimberley Steele, M.D., associate professor of surgery, has received the 2014 Excellence in Nutrition Award from the Foundation of the American Society for Metabolic and Bariatric Surgery. 


Queenie Plater, M.S., has been named vice president of human resources for the Johns Hopkins Medicine Community Division, which includes Howard County General, Sibley Memorial and Suburban hospitals. She most recently served as vice president of human resources for Sibley Memorial, where she began her medical center career as an employment assistant. She became Sibley’s human resources vice president in 2005.