In This Section      
Print This Page

Dome - Who/What

Dome November 2013


Date: October 29, 2013

Nursing Achieves Third Magnet Designation

The Johns Hopkins Hospital Department of Nursing has achieved its third Magnet Recognition designation from the American Nurses Credentialing Center. This designation for quality patient care, nursing excellence and innovations in professional nursing practice is given to approximately 7 percent of the nation’s hospitals.

Infection Prevention

JoEllen Harris, R.N., C.I.C., has been named to the newly created position of program director of infection prevention for the Johns Hopkins Health System, based in The Johns Hopkins Hospital’s Department of Hospital Epidemiology and Infection Control. Harris previously was director of quality and patient safety at Johns Hopkins Medicine affiliate All Children’s Hospital. In her new health system role, Harris will serve as an infection control adviser for all JHM entities, including Johns Hopkins Medicine International.

Diversity Council Top Honors

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center’s Diversity Council was recognized by the Association of Diversity Councils as one of the top 25 diversity councils in the nation for the third consecutive year. This year, the council ranked 10th, improving its standing from the previous year.

ICU Accolade

The Johns Hopkins Hospital’s Weinberg surgical intensive care unit has received the 2014 Family-Centered Care Innovation Award from the Society of Critical Care Medicine, to be presented in January.

East Baltimore

Zaver Bhujwalla, Ph.D., professor of radiology and director of the Johns Hopkins In-vivo Cellular and Molecular Imaging Center, has been named a fellow of the World Molecular Imaging Society after having served as its president for 2012-2013.

Hershaw Davis, M.S.N., R.N., has received a Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing’s Future American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) Minority Nurse Scholarship.

Ralph Hruban, M.D., professor of pathology and oncology, and director of the Sol Goldman Pancreatic Cancer Research Center, received Columbia University’s first Ruth Leff Siegel Award for Excellence in Pancreatic Cancer Research, a $50,000 prize that recognizes the investigator who has made the most significant contribution to the understanding and/or treatment of pancreatic cancer over the past year.  

Rita Kalyani, M.D., assistant professor of medicine in the Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and
Metabolism, and Annastasiah Mudiwa Mkaha, Ph.D., assistant director of Business Development and Strategic Alliances, have been named to The Daily Record newspaper’s list of 2013 Leading Women in Maryland. A diabetes specialist, Kalyani explores accelerated muscle loss as a complication for older adults, and is editor of The Johns Hopkins Diabetes Guide. Mkaha works closely with key faculty and leadership in identifying and developing external partnerships that maximize the impact of Johns Hopkins Medicine.

Aaron Milstone, M.D., M.H.S., assistant professor of infectious diseases, has been named the inaugural recipient of the Caroline B. Hall Clinical Research Innovation Award of the Pediatric Infectious Diseases Society Education and Research Foundation. Milstone was honored for leading a landmark study on how daily baths with an ordinary antibacterial cleanser can safely reduce bloodstream infections in critically ill children. 

Devin O’Brien-Coon, M.D., a fellow and assistant resident in plastic and reconstructive surgery, has been named to the 2013 list of Innovators of the Year, compiled by The Daily Record. O’Brien-Coon was one of a five-member team of Johns Hopkins graduate students who won this year’s $10,000 first-place prize in the annual Biomedical Engineering Innovations, Design, and Entrepreneurship Awards Competition, sponsored by the National Collegiate Inventors and Innovators Alliance. The invention is an ultrasound software system used to monitor blood flow in transplant patients.

Jeffrey Palmer, M.D., professor and director of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, as well as physiatrist-in-chief at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, was the keynote speaker at the 19th annual meeting of the Japanese Society of Dysphagia Rehabilitation (JSDR) in Okayama, Japan. Palmer, an honorary member of JSDR, has trained 23 Japanese clinicians and scientists at the Johns Hopkins Swallowing and Oral Function Laboratory, which he directs.

Lei Zheng, M.D., Ph.D., assistant professor of oncology and surgery, has received a $250,000 grant from the Susan Cohan Colon Cancer Foundation to fund research he is conducting on an immune-based vaccine and demethylating agents as new ways to treat colon cancer.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Mark Duncan, M.D., associate professor of surgery and oncology, vice director of the Department of Surgery and chief of surgical oncology, has received an Outstanding Care Award from The Sarcoma Alliance.

Lisa Grubb, M.S.N., R.N., W.O.C.N., C/D.O.N.A, C.I.C., has been named
director of quality care management. After previously concentrating on infection control, Grubb will be responsible for overseeing all quality initiatives, including core measure compliance and hospital-acquired conditions.

Carol Orth, M.A., R-D.M.T., L.C.P.C., of the Community Psychiatry Program, has been named the 2013 recipient of the Bea Robbins Award for Excellence in Psychiatry. She was honored for her work in the Autism and Special Needs Clinic.

Kapil Parakh, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., assistant professor and director, Heart Failure Programs, has been named a 2013-2014 White House Fellow. He will work as an aide to senior White House staff, lending his expertise in heart failure and models of health care delivery. Parakh, whose research focuses on the increased mortality in patients suffering depression following a heart attack, is co-founder of Health for America, a nonprofit that mobilizes youths to improve the health of communities. 

Leslie Taylor, R.N., has been named patient care manager of the neuroscience critical care unit and the neurosciences unit. Taylor has a decade of experience in nurse management and nursing education.

Marian Richardson, D.N.P., R.N., has been promoted to assistant director of oncology nursing. Richardson previously was nurse manager of radiation oncology.

Suburban Hospital

John Kleinguenther, C.N.A., an 18-year veteran of Suburban’s nursing staff, has received
EndoNurse magazine’s 2013 Most Valuable Professional Award.

Greg Kumkumian, M.D., has been named medical director of the cardiac catheter laboratory. The former medical director of the coronary care unit will now work with the National Institutes of Health’s Heart Center at Suburban, hospital staff and community cardiologists to develop policies and procedures for patients in the cath lab.

All Children’s Hospital

Amy Burton has been named director of marketing. Most recently, she was director of health partnerships at the University of South Florida in Tampa.


State of Johns Hopkins Medicine Address: Dec. 12

Mark your calendar to attend the State of Johns Hopkins Medicine Address on Thursday, Dec. 12, from noon to 1 p.m. in Turner Auditorium. Paul B. Rothman, dean of the medical faculty and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine, will deliver his second address to JHM faculty, staff, trainees and students.