In This Section      
Print This Page

Dome - Who/What

Dome November 2012


Date: November 16, 2012

Institute of Medicine Inductees

Lawrence Appel, M.D., M.P.H., professor of medicine and director of the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research, and Gregg Semenza, M.D., Ph.D., professor of pediatrics, medicine, oncology and radiation oncology, have been elected members of the Institute of Medicine, one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health. Appel’s landmark studies have set national standards for preventing heart disease, stroke and kidney disease. Semenza is a pre-eminent researcher on the molecular mechanics of oxygen regulation.

Lasker-Koshland for Brown

Donald Brown, M.D., M.S., an adjunct professor of biology since 1969 and director emeritus of the Carnegie Institution for Science’s Department of Embryology, has won the 2012 Lasker-Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science. He is honored for groundbreaking work in genetics and for mentoring young scientists. He shares the award with Thomas Maniatis of Columbia University. The Lasker Awards often are called the “American Nobels.” 

ECMO Program Honored

The Johns Hopkins Children’s Center’s Extra-Corporeal Membrane Oxygenation (ECMO) Program, a heart-and-lung bypass system, has received the Award for Excellence in Life Support from the Extracorporeal Life Support Organization (ELSO), an international consortium of health care professionals and scientists.

Capital Region
Oncology Administrator

Sheila Evans, B.S.N., M.S.N. has been named the new oncology program administrator for Johns Hopkins Medicine in the National Capital Region. Evans previously was director of oncology services at Sibley Memorial Hospital.

Assistant Dean for Diversity

Chiquita Collins, Ph.D., has been named assistant dean for diversity to direct implementation of Johns Hopkins Medicine’s Diversity & Inclusion 2020 strategic plan. Collins is recognized nationally for her work in health care disparities.

Leading Women

Jennifer Lockhart, R.N., M.S.N., M.B.A., Gyn/Ob practice administrator at the Wyman Park office of Johns Hopkins Community Physicians; Delora Sanchez, associate director of state affairs for The Johns Hopkins University; and Hope Tipton, J.D., director of Project HEAL, a free legal service for families of patients at the Harriet Lane Clinic, have been named to theThe Daily Record’s 2012 list of Leading Women of Maryland under 40.

East Baltimore

David Feller-Kopman, M.D., associate professor and director of bronchoscopy and interventional pulmonology, has received the American Association of Bronchology and Interventional Pulmonology’s 2012 Geoffrey McLennan Memorial Award for Advances in Interventional Pulmonology. Hopkins Hospital’s interventional pulmonology group that Feller-Kopman directs also was named a center of excellence in the field.

Robert Findling, M.D., M.B.A., has been named director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Both a pediatrician and a child and adolescent psychiatrist, he had been director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Case Western Reserve University.

Julie Freischlag, M.D., director of the Department of Surgery, has been named chair of the American College of Surgeons’ board of regents.

Gerard “Jerry” Lutty, Ph.D., professor of ophthalmology and director of the Ocular Vasculogenesis and Angiogenesis Laboratory, has received the Endre Balazs Prize for Excellence in Eye Research from the San Francisco-based International Society for Eye Research.

Martin Pomper, M.D., Ph.D., professor of radiology, has received a Prostate Cancer Foundation Challenge Award of $1 million to accelerate his interdisciplinary research on new treatments for prostate cancer. His co-investigators include George Sgouros, Ph.D., professor of radiology and radiological science and director of radiopharmaceutical dosimetry; and Paul Fisher, Ph.D., director of Virginia Commonwealth University’s Institute of Molecular Medicine.

Fredric Wondisford, M.D., professor of pediatrics, has received the American Thyroid Association’s 2012 Sidney Ingebar Distinguished Lectureship Award, which recognizes significant contributions to thyroid-related research over many years.

All Children’s Hospital

Jenine Rabin, M.B.A., has been named executive vice president of the All Children’s Hospital Foundation. Rabin will lead all foundation staff and philanthropic activities to support the hospital’s mission. She previously served as director of development for Stetson University in central Florida.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Terry Bennett, B.S.N., director of nurse recruitment, is president-elect of the National Association for Health Care Recruitment. Her term runs until July 2013.

Lisa Ishii, M.D., M.H.S., assistant professor of facial plastic and reconstructive surgery, has become the only recipient in a single year of two awards from the American Academy of Otolaryngology?Head and Neck Surgery. She received the Cochrane Scholar Award and the Guidelines-International-Network Scholar Award.

Jennifer Kennedy, M.S., P.A.-C, has received the Food and Drug Administration’s Leveraging and Collaboration Award for being an advocate for drug safety and for collaborating with the FDA to remove the cough-and-cold medication Baczol from over-the-counter sales.

Richard O’Brien, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor and director of the Department of Neurology, has been named associate dean for research. He will serve on the Executive Leadership Team in the office of David Hellmann, M.D., the vice dean, as an adviser on promoting innovative and safe research.

Cynthia Rand, Ph.D., professor of medicine in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine, has been named associate dean for faculty. She will advise and support department directors in the areas of faculty recruitment, retention and promotion.

Roy Ziegelstein, M.D., professor of cardiology, executive vice director of the Department of Medicine and associate director of the internal medicine residency, has been named senior associate dean for faculty development.

Howard County General Hospital

Hospital President Victor Broccolino has received the Senior Level Healthcare Executive Award from the American College of Healthcare Executives and the Maryland Association of Health Care Executives to commemorate his years of service to the profession.

Suburban Hospital

Healthy Destinations Challenge, the annual employee wellness program, was among the activities that earned Suburban the “Healthiest Employer” accolade from theWashington Business Journal on enterprises with 1,000 to 4,999 employees in the Washington, D.C., metropolitan area.

The intensive care unit earned the top spot in the Maryland Hospital Association’s On the Cusp: Stop BSI initiative to curb the incidence of central line-associated bloodstream infections. The ICU has not had a central line-associated bloodstream infection for 28 months.

Johns Hopkins Medicine International

Al Corniche Hospital, Tawam Hospital and Al Rahba Hospital, all United Arab Emirate health care centers managed by JHI, have received Circle of Excellence Awards from the Abu Dhabi Health Services Company, which owns them and nine other hospitals. Al Corniche Hospital was recognized as the “best overall”; Tawam Hospital’s information technology program was cited for excellence; Al Rahba Hospital’s rapid response team won top honors for transformational events.

India-based Bharat Family Clinic Pvt. Ltd. (BFC) has signed a first-of-its-kind agreement with JHI to establish a large network of outpatient facilities. Hopkins faculty and experts will advise the company on clinical program development and assist with facility design and operation.