In This Section      

Dome - Who/What

Dome March 2014


Date: March 1, 2014

Dean/CEO Honored

Paul B. Rothman, M.D., dean of the medical faculty and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine, was named one of the 50 most powerful people in health care nationwide by Becker’s Hospital Review. The publication cited Rothman’s role in shaping national policy, operations and management in health care.

$90 Million Ludwig Grant

Johns Hopkins cancer researchers have received $90 million in new funding from Ludwig Cancer Research, an international nonprofit organization that supports basic and translational research. The money will be used to identify the genetic alterations responsible for human tumors and to exploit that knowledge to manage patients with cancer.

AHA Research Awards

The American Heart Association (AHA) Mid-Atlantic Affiliate has awarded $10,224,838 in active research awards to The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System for cardiology research. Over the past 10 years, the AHA has funded 271 Johns Hopkins research projects totaling more than $31 million. The hospital has partnered locally on several AHA preventive health programs.

East Baltimore

Gerald Brandacher, M.D., associate professor and scientific director of the Reconstructive Transplant Program, and W.P. Andrew Lee, M.D., professor and director of the Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, have been named to a committee formed by the United Network for Organ Sharing to determine policy guidelines for hand and face transplantation.

Robert Findling, M.D., M.B.A., director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, has been named the inaugural recipient of the Leonard and Helen R. Stulman Professorship in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry.

Estelle Gauda, M.D., professor of pediatrics, has been named the new senior associate dean for faculty development in the school of medicine.

John Hundt, M.H.A., administrator for the Department of Surgery since 2001, has been elected vice president of the Association of Academic Surgical Administrators.

Sewon Kang, M.D., professor and director of the Department of Dermatology, has been appointed editor-in-chief of the ninth edition of Fitzpatrick’s Dermatology in General Medicine.

Jonathan Lewin, M.D., professor, director of the Department of Radiology and Radiological Science, and radiologist-in-chief at The Johns Hopkins Hospital, has become president of the Academy of Radiology Research.

Martin Makary, M.D., associate professor and surgical director of the Pancreas Multidisciplinary Cancer Clinic, has been named by HealthLeaders magazine as one of 20 top people in the nation who are making a difference in health care. Makary was cited for his advocacy of methods for restoring public trust in surgical quality through results reporting and transparency.

Hanjing Peng, Ph.D., a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Pharmacology and Molecular Sciences, has received a three-year, $156,000 fellowship award from the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation. Along with her sponsor, Jun Liu, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology and molecular sciences, Peng hopes to discover new anticancer drugs with lower toxicity or side effects than current medications.

Andrew Satin, M.D., professor and director of the Department of Gynecology and Obstetrics, has been elected vice president of the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology.

Anne Seymour, M.S.I.S., has been named director of the Welch Medical Library. Previously, she was associate director for information services at the Biomedical Library at the University of Pennsylvania. 

Martha Zeiger, M.D., professor of surgery, oncology, cellular and molecular medicine, director of endocrine surgery, and co-director of translational and basic research in the Department of Surgery, has been named associate dean for postdoctoral affairs. A member of the faculty since 1993, she succeeds cardiac surgeon Levi Watkins, M.D., who held the position for many years prior to retiring at the end of 2013.

Johns Hopkins Bayview

Judith Fleury, M.H.M., a veteran of four decades in health care management, has been named the director of ambulatory services for the ambulatory medicine and maternal child health service lines.

Thomas Greenawalt, M.S., has been named director of parking. With more than 10 years of parking management experience, Greenawalt most recently served as manager of on-street and valet parking operations for Baltimore City.

Gerald Lazarus, M.D., professor of dermatology, has been named the 2014 recipient of the American Skin Association David Martin Carter Mentor Award. It is given to academic dermatologists who have shown superior achievement in research, long-term involvement as a mentor to research fellows, and long-standing career advice and support for colleagues and former research fellows.

Hector Opulencia, C.R.C., has been promoted to program manager of the Community Psychiatry Program. Opulencia, a certified rehabilitation counselor and board-approved substance abuse supervisor, has long led the program’s child and adolescent crisis training program. He will continue supervising the Children’s Center, the Adolescent Intensive Outpatient Program and the Child and Adolescent Psychiatric Rehabilitation Program. He also will share supervising responsibilities for the Intensive Outpatient Program for Adults with Sharon Praissman, C.R.N.P.

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians

UnitedHealthcare, an operating division of UnitedHealth Group, the largest single health carrier in the United States, has given a quality star rating to all JHCP providers who had sufficient claims data to assess their health care services. The rating earned JHCP placement on the list of UnitedHealthcare’s Premium Designation Program. 

All Children’s Hospital

Julia Beresford, D.H.A., has been named director of the International Medicine program. Beresford previously served as vice president of quality and regulatory affairs at Governor Juan F. Luis Hospital and Medical Center in St. Croix, Virgin Islands. The program’s medical director is neonatologist Roberto Sosa, M.D.

Johns Hopkins Medicine International (JHI)

Linda Gilligan, M.B.A., M.S., and Sharon Myers, R.N., M.S.N., M.S.B., have been appointed as chief operating officer and quality and safety officer, respectively, for Johns Hopkins Aramco Healthcare, the newly launched health delivery system that is a joint venture between JHI and Saudi Aramco, a Saudi Arabia-based world leader in energy.