In This Section      

Dome - Who/What

Dome January/February 2015


Date: January 7, 2015

Vice Provost for Education
Kelly Gebo, M.D., M.P.H., professor of medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases, has been named The Johns Hopkins University’s first vice provost for education. Gebo, who also holds a professorship in epidemiology in the Bloomberg School of Public Health, has been serving as director of the Undergraduate Program in Public Health Studies in the Krieger School of Arts and Sciences. A 1995 graduate of the school of medicine, Gebo will help guide education programming throughout the university. 

Hospitals Honored
The Johns Hopkins Hospital, Sibley Memorial Hospital and Suburban Hospital have each received the Joint Commission’s 2013 Top Performer on Key Quality Measures award. The accolade recognizes the hospitals’ improving performance on evidence-based interventions that increase the chances of healthy outcomes for patients with certain conditions, including heart attacks, heart failure, pneumonia, children’s asthma, stroke and venous thromboembolism. It also recognizes improvements in postoperative care, perinatal care, immunizations and inpatient psychiatric services. The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Sibley Memorial are receiving this honor for the second consecutive year. This is Suburban’s first Top Performer award.

AAAS Fellows
Aravinda Chakravarti, Ph.D., professor of pediatrics and of molecular biology and genetics, and director of the Center for Complex Disease Genomes; Peter Espenshade, Ph.D., professor of cell biology and associate dean for graduate biomedical education; Alex Kolodkin, Ph.D., professor of neuroscience and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator; and Jin Zhang, Ph.D., professor of pharmacology and molecular sciences, neuroscience, and oncology, have been elected by their peers as fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

East Baltimore
Steven Cohen, M.D., professor of anesthesiology and critical care medicine, has received the 2014 Donlin M. Long Award for advancing the standards of pain care. The award is named for the director of the Department of Neurosurgery from 1973 to 2000. Cohen is director of medical education for the pain management division.

Ziya Gokaslan, M.D., professor of neurosurgery, orthopaedic surgery and oncology; vice director of the Department of Neurosurgery; and director of the Neurosurgical Spine Center, has received the North American Spine Society’s 2014 Leon Wiltse Award, which recognizes excellence in leadership and clinical research in spine care.

John Hundt, M.H.S., administrator for the Department of Surgery since 2000, has been elected president of the Association of Academic Surgical Administrators for a two-year term.

Nagi Khouri, M.D., an internationally recognized leader in breast imaging who was the first to introduce image-guided breast biopsies in Maryland, has been named the inaugural Carol Ann Flanagan Professor in Breast Imaging in the Department of Radiology and Radiological Sciences.

Thomas Koenig, M.D., assistant professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences and associate dean for student affairs, has been elected vice chair of the Association of American Medical Colleges’ Group on Student Affairs. Election by his peers to this post begins a five-year succession of leadership roles for Koenig that will include the chairmanship of the group, which is the largest professional development body for medical student affairs officers in the country.

Marikki Laiho, M.D., Ph.D., professor of radiation oncology and molecular radiation sciences and of oncology, and director of the Division of Molecular Radiation Sciences, is one of 11 physician-scientists in the nation to receive a 2014 Harrington Scholar-Innovator Grant, worth at least $100,000 annually over a two-year period. The grant will enable Laiho to pursue her research on the relevance and implications of cellular DNA damage due to cancer and help apply her findings to clinical care.

David Roth, Ph.D., professor of geriatric medicine and gerontology and director of the Johns Hopkins Center on Aging and Health, has been named the principal investigator at the new Johns Hopkins Roybal Center. The center, part of the congressionally authorized Edward R. Roybal Centers for Research on Applied Gerontology, was created with a five-year, $1.8 million grant from the National Institute on Aging.

Lillie Shockney, R.N., B.S., M.A.S., University Distinguished Service Associate Professor of Breast Cancer and administrative director of both the Johns Hopkins Breast Center and its cancer survivorship programs, has received the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship’s 2014 Catherine Logan Award for Service to Survivorship.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
Harpal “Paul” Khanuja, M.D., assistant professor of orthopaedic surgery, director of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery at Johns Hopkins Bayview, and chief of adult reconstruction for hip and knee replacement surgery, has been named the inaugural recipient of the Humanitarian Award from the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons. Khanuja was honored for being the co-founder and medical director of Operation Walk Maryland, a private, nonprofit volunteer medical service organization that provides free hip and knee replacements throughout the U.S. and in several developing countries.

Christal Moore, M.B.A., M.H.A., has been promoted to administrator of the Department of Surgery. She began her Johns Hopkins career as an administrative fellow in 2007 and previously served as assistant administrator of surgery. Moore also has been elected to the board of directors for the Association of Academic Surgical Administrators.

Marketing and Communications
The Johns Hopkins HealthCare marketing and communications team has received two Best in Maryland awards from the state chapter of the Public Relations Society of America for internal communications initiatives: The Make Yourself a Superhero interactive game, created to promote donations to the 2013 United Way campaign, and Rethink Your Drink campaign, a healthy beverage initiative. has received the Web Marketing Association’s WebAward for Outstanding Achievement in Web Development.

The Johns Hopkins Medicine Health Library, found on, has received a Public Relations Society of America Thoth Award for excellence.

Howard County General Hospital
Deborah Miller, R.N., M.S., has been appointed director of cultural transformation. She will be responsible for working with staff members at all levels of the hospital to coordinate service excellence functions and activities to promote exemplary patient experience.

Johns Hopkins Medicine International
Zubair Ansari, M.H.A., has been named director of patient financial services. He will oversee all international patient-related financial activities and lead efforts to increase efficiency.

Victoria Navarro, M.A.S., M.S.N., R.N., senior nurse consultant for Johns Hopkins Medicine International, former president of the Philippine Nurses Association of America and co-director of the Philippine Humanitarian Coalition, has received a 2014 Banaag Award from President Benigno Aquino III of the Philippines for her efforts to better the lives of Filipinos worldwide. Navarro was cited for advancing the cause of Filipino nurses in the U.S.