In This Section      

Dome - Who/What

Dome December 2014


Date: December 5, 2014

Vice President of Quality

Renee Demski, M.S.W., M.B.A., has been promoted to vice president of quality for The Johns Hopkins Hospital and Health System. The former senior director of Johns Hopkins Medicine’s Center for Innovation in Quality Patient Care and senior director of quality improvement and operations integration for the Johns Hopkins Health System is credited for implementing various successful initiatives, including overhauling the front-end registration process. A veteran with more than 25 years of service at Johns Hopkins, Demski will work closely with executives and frontline staff across the health system to implement a comprehensive improvement strategy to eliminate preventable harms, improve patient outcomes and experiences, and reduce waste in health care delivery.

East Baltimore

Jaishri Blakeley, M.D., associate professor of neurology and director of the Johns Hopkins Comprehensive Neurofibromatosis Center, has received the Children’s Tumor Foundation’s 2014 Children’s Humanitarian Award for her contributions in advancing clinical trials and drug research for neurofibromatosis.

Henry Brem, M.D., professor and director of the Department of Neurosurgery, has been honored with the creation of the Henry Brem Professorship in Neurosurgery. Largely funded with two leadership gifts, each exceeding $1 million, from Dr. Irving and Florence Sherman, and from Josh and Genine Fidler, in addition to several other donors, the professorship honors Brem’s service as director of the department and his innovative brain tumor research.

Lisa Cooper, M.D., M.P.H., professor of medicine and director of the Johns Hopkins Center to Eliminate Cardiovascular Health Disparities, has received the Association of American Medical Colleges’ 2014 Herbert W. Nickens Award in recognition of her contributions to academic medicine showing how race and ethnicity affect health and patient care.

David Eisele, M.D., director of the Department of Otolaryngology–Head and Neck Surgery, has been elected to a two-year term as president of the 124-member Association of Academic Departments of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery.

Elliot Fishman, M.D., professor of radiology and radiological science and director of diagnostic imaging and body CT, has received a Minnie Award for excellence in radiology from, an organization that gives radiology professionals the opportunity to highlight the contributions of their peers to the advancement of medical imaging. “Aunt Minnie” is a common radiological term that describes a radiologic finding that is so specific and compelling that there is really no realistic differential diagnosis.

Lisa Ishii, M.D., M.H.S., associate professor of otolaryngology–head and neck surgery, has received the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery’s 2014 William K. Wright Award. The prize recognizes a member of the academy who has made outstanding contributions to facial plastic and reconstructive surgery.

Roy Strowd, M.D., a neuro-oncology fellow, is the first-ever recipient of a Medical Education Research Training Fellowship sponsored by the American Academy of Neurology Institute. The award includes a one-year grant of $65,000 to foster his research.

Pediatrics Honors

M. Douglas Baker, M.D., professor of pediatrics and director of pediatric emergency medicine, has been named the 2014 recipient of the American Academy of Pediatrics’ Jim Seidel Distinguished Service Award. The honor, bestowed by the academy’s Section on Emergency Medicine, recognizes Baker’s contributions to the field with regard to the evaluation and management of fever in infants.

Sanjay Jain, M.D., associate professor of pediatric infectious diseases, has received a National Institutes of Health Transformative Research Award for his ongoing work to design a new noninvasive imaging method that can rapidly identify a wide variety of bacterial infections and monitor their response in real time. The award comes with more than $2.2 million in research funding over the next five years.

Marlene Miller, M.D., M.Sc., professor and vice chair of quality and safety in the Johns Hopkins Children’s Center, has been awarded a $2 million grant from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality to pursue studies aimed at preventing central line infections in children treated at home.

Howard County General Hospital

Ryan Brown, M.H.A., M.S.R.E., has been appointed vice president of operations. A 12-year Johns Hopkins Medicine veteran, Brown has held various administration roles, serving most recently as senior director of business development for the Community Division.

Karen Davis, Ph.D., R.N., N.E.A.-B.C., has been appointed vice president of nursing/chief nursing officer. She will be responsible for inpatient nursing units; emergency, ancillary, women’s and children’s services; clinical education; and patient care staffing and operations. Davis has been employed at The Johns Hopkins Hospital for 25 years in a variety of roles, including clinical care nurse, nurse manager, and, for the past seven years, as director of medical and radiology nursing.

Home Care Accolades

Johns Hopkins Home Care Group, a nonprofit owned by The Johns Hopkins Health System Corporation and The Johns Hopkins University, and Potomac Home Health Care, owned by Johns Hopkins Medicine’s Sibley Memorial and Suburban hospitals, have each been named to the 2014 list of HomeCare Elite. The accolades were bestowed by National Research Corporation, the leading provider of home health metrics and analytics, and DecisionHealth, publisher of the home health industry newsletter Home Health Line. Criteria that led to the recognition include quality outcomes, best practice implementation, patient experience, quality improvement and consistency, and financial performance. 

Johns Hopkins Health System

Michael Cole has been appointed administrator for integrated sleep medicine. Previously operations administrator for Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, Cole will direct all Johns Hopkins Medicine sleep medicine programs. This will entail close collaboration with a wide range of entities, including the school of medicine, Johns Hopkins Home Care Group, the Johns Hopkins Community Division and Sleep Services of America. Cole, who joined Johns Hopkins in 2003, possesses a combined 30 years of clinical and administrative experience, including work as director of cardiology services at Hopkins Bayview.

All Children’s Hospital

Jackie Crain, J.D., M.B.A., has assumed a new role as chief strategy officer/senior counsel. She is responsible for strategic business services, including strategic planning, business development initiatives and affiliate programs, and will continue to oversee legal affairs, corporate governance and risk management. In January 2012, Crain was named senior counsel for the Johns Hopkins Health System.

MaryAnn Bruton has been promoted to administrative director of imaging, laboratory and pathology services. She joined All Children’s in 2006 as director of imaging services.