In This Section      
Print This Page

Dome - Who/What

December 2011


Date: December 16, 2011

Capital Region research

Theodore Abraham, M.D., associate professor of medicine and vice chief of the Division of Cardiology, has been appointed the first associate dean for research in the Capital Region, which includes Suburban Hospital and Sibley Memorial Hospital. Abraham’s primary responsibility will be to build research capacity at Howard County General Hospital, Suburban and Sibley.

CFO to Know

Richard Grossi, chief financial officer of Johns Hopkins Medicine since its inception, has been named by Becker’s Hospital Review as one of the “110 Hospital and Health System CFOs to Know.” Placement on the magazine’s list of top CFOs signifies that Grossi is among the most respected and talented CFOs in the health care industry, according to the magazine.

New Security chief

John Bergbower, a 27-year veteran of the Baltimore City Police Department who has been a central figure in Hopkins’ security system since 2003, has been promoted to the position of vice president of security for Johns Hopkins Medicine. Bergbower previously served as senior director of corporate security, parking and transportation, as well as internal director of security for the schools of medicine, public health and nursing, and as director of investigations. As vice president of security, he succeeds Harry Koffenberger, a three-decade veteran of law enforcement, who has been head of security since 2006.    

Armstrong Institute

The Johns Hopkins Armstrong Institute for Patient Safety and Quality, established this year, has been awarded a $10 million grant from the federal Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality in the Department of Health and Human Services to undertake a project designed to reduce surgical-site infections and other major complications from colon surgery. The project will be conducted in partnership with the American College of Surgeons, according to Peter Pronovost, M.D., Ph.D., director of the Armstrong Institute.

East Baltimore

Carol Iversen, M.S., R.D.M.S., program director of diagnostic medical sonography, has received the 2011 Most Effective Radiologic Technologist Educator Award from, the San Francisco-based radiology website that bestows annual awards for excellence in radiology.

Carol P. Keese, M.B.A., recently joined Johns Hopkins Medicine as senior director of strategic communications and public affairs. She comes most recently from the University of Virginia Health System and will be responsible for growing the reach and influence of the Johns Hopkins Medicine brand.

Nicole Parrish, Ph.D., assistant professor of pathology and director of medical mycobacteriology, has received certification as a diplomate of the American Board of Medical Microbiology. This certification is the highest credential that a doctoral level clinical microbiologist can earn.

Thomas Smith, M.D., has been appointed director of palliative care for Johns Hopkins Medicine and the inaugural Harry J. Duffey Family Professor of Palliative Care in the Department of Oncology. He will lead palliative care efforts throughout the Hopkins health care system, as well as in the Kimmel Cancer Center.

Martha Tesfalul, a member of the school of medicine’s class of 2013, has received an Association of American Medical Colleges’ Herbert W. Nickens Award, given to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and health care equities for Americans. The award includes a $5,000 scholarship.

Mark Young, M.D., M.B.A., part-time assistant professor of physical medicine and rehabilitation, has received the International Society of Physical and Rehabilitative Medicine’s Haim Ring PM&R International Memorial Award for his contributions to advancing the cause of international education and humanitarian exchange in physiatry. 

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Roy Ziegelstein, M.D., professor and vice director of the Department of Medicine at Johns Hopkins Bayview, has been selected as a Master of the American College of Physicians, the highest honor bestowed by the organization. His renowned diagnostic skills and superb clinical judgment all contributed to his selection.

Joseph Carrese, M.D., associate professor of medicine and chair of the Johns Hopkins Bayview Ethics Committee, has been selected to receive the 2011 Presidential Citation Award from the American Society for Bioethics and Humanities. The award recognizes his work in establishing national standards and a certification process for health care professionals who conduct clinical ethics consultations.

Jan DeRoche has been named the new director of care management. She will plan and coordinate the care management department in collaboration with senior director Carol Sylvester.

Jenn Nizer, longtime director of the child day care center, has been appointed chair of the Early Childhood Development Advisory Council of the Maryland State Department of Education, which oversees every aspect of early childhood education in Maryland.

The community psychiatry program has been designated a Recovery Center of Excellence by the State of Maryland for its  hard work to create a recovery culture within the state. Community psychiatry was one of only four programs in Maryland to receive the award.

Sibley Memorial Hospital

Robert L. Sloan, president and CEO of Sibley, recently was honored by the District of Columbia Hospital Association’s board of directors, which established a leadership award in his name. The award will be presented annually to an individual from one of the association members who has demonstrated the qualities of leadership inspired by Sloan.

Antony Rosen, M.D., professor and chief of the Division of Rheumatology at Johns Hopkins Bayview, received a $1.2 million grant from Sibley Memorial Hospital’s Mackley Fund for Research to finance a project to make precise measurements of a patient’s disease and reaction to treatment to help determine which patients benefit most from different treatments.

Find Physicians Specializing In...