Howard County General Hospital Announces Aronson/Willis Memorial Award Recipients


COLUMBIA, Md.—Howard County General Hospital: A Member of Johns Hopkins Medicine announces that Caitlin Toler from Reservoir High School and Drew Ross from Marriotts Ridge High School are the 2021 recipients of the Aronson/Willis Memorial Award. Each student was awarded a $2,000 scholarship and a certificate from the hospital’s professional staff.

Toler and Ross were chosen for maintaining the highest grade point average while participating in at least two varsity sports. Each year, one graduating male and one graduating female are chosen to receive the award.

The Aronson/Willis Memorial Award, sponsored by the professional staff of Howard County General Hospital, is dedicated to the late Dr. Barry Aronson and Dr. Eugene “Pebble” Willis, both former orthopedic surgeons on staff at Howard County General Hospital.

Aronson, a supporter and coach of school athletics, died in 1986. Willis, who died in 2009, also was active in area sports in addition to holding positions at the hospital through the years, including chair of orthopedic surgery and member of the board of trustees.

About Howard County General Hospital
Howard County General Hospital: A Member of Johns Hopkins Medicine is a not-for-profit health care provider with 225 licensed beds located in Columbia, Maryland. A comprehensive, acute-care medical center, Howard County General offers a full range of services, from neonatal care and oncology to outpatient treatment and critical care.

The hospital has a professional staff of more than 1,100 physicians and allied health professionals, representing nearly 100 specialties and subspecialties; a workforce of more than 1,850 individuals and over 330 volunteers.