Skip Navigation

COVID-19 Update

We are experiencing extremely high call volume related to COVID-19 vaccine interest. Please understand that our phone lines must be clear for urgent medical care needs. We are unable to accept phone calls to schedule COVID-19 vaccinations at this time. When this changes, we will update this web site. Please know that our vaccine supply is extremely small. Read all COVID-19 Vaccine Information.

Patient Care Options | Visitor Guidelines | Coronavirus Information | Self-Checker | Get Email Alerts


Congratulations to the 2020 Recipients of Johns Hopkins' Martin Luther King Jr. Award for Community Service

Congratulations to the 2020 Recipients of Johns Hopkins' Martin Luther King Jr. Award for Community Service

Eight Johns Hopkins Medicine and University faculty and staff members were selected for volunteer work.

Practicing the true spirit of Martin Luther King Jr.'s commitment to making a difference for all humanity are the annual recipients of the MLK Community Service Award. These award recipients, along with others, are recognized each year during the uplifting Johns Hopkins Martin Luther King Jr. Commemoration. 

In 2021, the awards ceremony concludes a weeklong series of virtual events to celebrate the life and legacy of Dr. King, focused on the theme, "Now Is the Time for Hope and Healing." 

Celebrate your colleagues' achievements by watching this year's virtual award ceremony on Friday, Jan. 15, at noon. Join via this link.

The following individuals are recognized for their outstanding commitments to volunteer community service and to humanity.

  • Allie Benson, Physical Therapist, Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital
  • Thomas Burnett, Neuroscience Graduate Student, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Ryan England, Radiology Resident, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  • Megan McGowan, Clinical Specialist-Occupational Therapist, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Larissa McRoy, Patient Care Technician, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center
  • Sandra Panchalingam, Research Program Manager, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing
  • Ava Roberts, Clinical Laboratory Scientist, The Johns Hopkins Hospital
  • Pingdewinde Sam, Doctoral Candidate, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine

For the second consecutive year, Johns Hopkins also presented a community service award to a student. This year's award went to two students, sisters and Johns Hopkins Summer Jobs Program participants Tatiana and Nadia Egbunine. Learn more about their volunteerism.

Also during the awards ceremony, Johns Hopkins leadership recognized this year's recipient of the Levi Watkins Ideals Award, which honors the late Dr. Levi Watkins and is bestowed upon a Johns Hopkins Medicine leader who has made outstanding contributions centered on our core values of excellence and discovery, leadership and integrity, diversity and inclusion, and respect and collegiality. Congratulations to this year's recipient: Kathleen Page, associate professor of infectious disease at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

back to top button