In This Section      
Print This Page

2018 Education Conference and Celebration Schedule

Morning Sessions

7:30 - 8:00 a.m.

8:00 - 8:15 a.m.

  • Joseph Cofrancesco, Jr., MD, MPH, FACP, Director, Institute for Excellence in Education; Johns Hopkins Institute for Excellence in Education Associate Professor of Medicine, JHUSOM
  • Paul B. Rothman, MD, Frances Watt Baker, M.D., and Lenox D. Baker Jr., M.D. Dean of the Medical Faculty, Vice President for Medicine of The Johns Hopkins University, and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine, JHUSOM
  • Roy C. Ziegelstein, MD, MACP, Sarah Miller Coulson and Frank L. Coulson, Jr., Professor of Medicine; Mary Wallace Stanton Professor of Education; Vice Dean for Education, JHUSOM
  • Patricia M. Davidson, PhD, MEd, RN, FAAN, Dean, JHUSON
  • Laura Morlock, PhD, Executive Vice Dean for Academic Affairs; Professor; Health Policy and Management, JHBSPH

8:15 - 8:45 a.m.
Faculty Education Scholar Updates

8:45 - 10:15 a.m.
Oral Abstracts

10:15 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Poster Presentations

11:00 - 11:45 p.m.
Awards Celebration

11:45 - 12:45 p.m.
Lunch, Networking and Table Talks

Afternoon Sessions

12:45 - 1:30 p.m.
Plenary Address

Dr. Brigham


Timothy B. Brigham, MDiv, PhD

Chief of Staff and Senior Vice President, Education
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)

Topic: ACGME Focus on Physician Well-Being: Deepening our Commitment to Faculty, Learners, and Patients

Time: 12:45 to 1:30 p.m.

Venue: Armstrong Medical Education Building
              Strauch Auditorium West
              1600 McElderry Street
              Baltimore, MD 21206


Dr. Timothy B. Brigham, MDiv, PhD, is Chief of Staff and Senior Vice President for Education at the ACGME. Dr. Brigham's responsibilities as head of the Department of Education include the ACGME Annual Educational Conference and the development of new educational programs for the ACGME and the graduate medical education community.

Prior to joining the ACGME in 2008, Dr. Brigham served since 1989 in several capacities at Jefferson Medical College, including as Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education and Continuing Medical Education and, most recently, as Senior Associate Dean for Organizational Development and Chief of Staff and Associate Professor of Medicine. Dr. Brigham has been involved in physician faculty development, resident education, and chief resident and program director development. He is widely sought after as a teacher, speaker, group facilitator, and consultant in a variety of areas, including resident stress and well-being; chief resident, program director, and chairperson leadership development; medical student, resident, and faculty teaching development; and group and team organizational development.

Dr. Brigham holds a PhD in psychological studies in education from Temple University, a Master’s degree in counseling and human relations from Villanova University, and a Master’s of Divinity from Palmer Theological Seminary.

View Dr. Brigham's webpage

1:30 - 3:00 p.m.

1) Science of Learning in Your Research

Rachel B. Levine, MD, MPH (Facilitator), Associate Dean for Faculty Educational Development; Associate Professor, Medicine; Co-Director, Faculty Development Program in Teaching Skills, JHBMC

 Kristin M. Gagnier, PhD , Outreach and Evaluation Specialist and Assistant Research Scientist, Science of Learning Institute, JHU

2) Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses for Educational Research

Anne Seymour, MD (Co-Facilitator), Assistant Professor, Division of Health Sciences Informatics; Director, Welch Medical Library, JHUSOM

Blair Anton, MLIS, MS, AHIP (Co-Facilitator), Research Associate; Associate Director, Clinical Informationist Services, JHUSOM

3) An Inteprofessional Model for Competency: Using Telepresence and Simulation for

Rita D'Aoust, PhD (Facilitator), Associate Dean for Teaching and Learning, JHUSON

3:00 - 4:50 p.m.
Educational Scholarship Shark Tank

Four to five finalists will be selected to present proposals to our panel of Education Scholarship Sharks, who will then distribute $10,000 among the project(s). The best proposal might get it all, or it might be divided among projects!

This is a great opportunity to receive feedback from recognized educational experts, understand the kinds of things expert review panels consider, and get funding for a project.

How Shark Tank Works:
Selected proposal presenters, will have five minutes to make a presentation, with or without PowerPoint slides, describing:

  • Why is this important?
  • What do you plan to do?
  • How will you demonstrate that it works?

After each presenter has answered pointed questions and worked with the sharks, a final proposal or proposals will emerge and be awarded the grant(s).

4:50 - 5:00 p.m.
Conference Wrap Up

View all events»