In This Section      

The Berkheimer Faculty Education Scholar Grant

Purpose of the Grant

To offer Hopkins faculty the resources necessary to enhance their educational skills, complete a scholarly project and encourage careers as educational leaders.

About the Grant

The Berkheimer estate bequeathed an endowment to the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in honor of Dr. George A. Berkheimer and his wife, Margaret Yates Berkheimer.  Dr. Berkheimer graduated from the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 1938, completed training in orthopedic surgery and had a distinguished 35 year career as a surgeon and teacher.   His wife was an accomplished writer and journalist.   Their mutual commitment to teaching excellence was the impetus for this faculty scholar grant in their honor.

The Berkheimer Faculty Education Scholar Grant is intended to foster the career development of future educational leaders while providing the support to complete a scholarly project that enhances and improves the education of medical or graduate students, residents, clinical or post-doctoral fellows, or peers at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, with implications for education broadly.   One grant will be awarded each academic year to a faculty member or faculty team (maximum of three faculty members) who exhibit promise, innovation, talent and enthusiasm as educators.  The grant will provide up to $50,000 for 12 to 18 months, along with mentorship from the Managing Board of the Institute for Excellence in Education (IEE), to be used to conduct and disseminate a scholarly education project as well as complete an individualized faculty development plan. 


All active full and part-time faculty of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine are eligible to apply. Applications may be submitted by an individual faculty member or faculty team of up to three.

Governing Committees

Director of the IEE Faculty Education Scholars Program
Nicole Shilkofski, MD, MEd

Oversight Committee
Nicole Shilkofski, MD, MEd, the IEE Managing Board and invited Hopkins faculty members.

Selection Committee
Nicole Shilkofski, MD, MEd (Chair), Jessica L. Bienstock, MD, MPH, Joseph Cofrancesco Jr., MD, MPH, FACP (non-voting member), Khalil G. Ghanem, MD, PhD, Mitchell A. Goldstein, MD, Susan Lehmann, MD, Pamela A. Lipsett, MD, MHPE, FACS, FCCM, Douglas N. Robinson, PhD,  Serkan Toy, PhD, MEd, Stephen C. Yang, MD