Division of Immunogenetics and Transplantation Immunology

The Division of Immunogenetics and Transplantation Immunology in the Department of Medicine of the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine is one of the premier Histocompatibility and Immunogenetics laboratories. The laboratory was founded in 1964 by Dr. Wilma Bias and continued to grow under the leadership of Dr. M. Sue Leffell, Dr. Andrea A. Zachary and Dr. Annette M. Jackson.

Under the leadership of Dr. Maria P. Bettinotti, the laboratory provides cutting edge clinical testing for solid organ and stem cell transplantation, pharmacogenetics and autoimmune disease diagnosis. Our research contributes to a greater understanding of the allogeneic response following transplantation and the role of immunogenetics in autoimmune diseases. We have published on the immunogenicity of different HLA antigens, identified minor histocompatibility systems, conducted numerous studies in population genetics, and supported studies in vaccine development. We have developed strategies and tools to facilitate and expand transplant options via kidney paired donation and haploidentical hematopoietic stem cell transplantation.

In addition to making significant contributions in the science and technology of histocompatibility and immunogenetics, members of the laboratory have had leadership roles in national and international organizations and have worked extensively with government agencies on regulatory matters.

Visit the Immunogenetics Website