Print This Page

Aronson Award Winners Announced

Contact: Sharon Sopp, 410-740-7646,

Columbia, MD – Howard County General Hospital: A Member of Johns Hopkins Medicine (HCGH) announces that Meghan M. Yi from River Hill High School and Timothy B. Marcoux from Glenelg High School are the 2008 recipients of the Aronson Memorial Award. The recipients each receive a $2,000 scholarship and were chosen for maintaining the highest grade point average while participating in at least two varsity sports.

The Aronson Memorial Award, sponsored by the Professional Staff of Howard County General Hospital, is dedicated to the late Barry Aronson, M.D., a fellow member of the professional staff who was an enthusiastic supporter and coach of school athletics. Each year, one graduating male and one graduating female are chosen to receive the award.

Howard County General Hospital: A Member of Johns Hopkins Medicine since 1998 is a 219-bed, not-for-profit, health care provider located in Columbia, Maryland. Serving the community since 1973, the hospital, with a professional staff of over 800 physicians and allied health professionals, representing more than 70 specialties and subspecialties, and a workforce of more than 1,700, has grown into a comprehensive, acute-care medical center that offers a full range of services, from neonatal care and oncology to outpatient treatment and critical care.