Print This Page

Aronson/Willis Memorial Award Recipients

Columbia, MD – Howard County General Hospital: A Member of Johns Hopkins Medicine (HCGH) announces that Ellen M. Axenfeld from Glenelg High School and Graham A. Welch from Mt. Hebron High School are the 2010 recipients of the Aronson/Willis Memorial Award. The recipients each receive a $2,000 scholarship and were chosen for maintaining the highest grade point average while participating in at least two varsity sports. Each year, one graduating male and one graduating female are chosen to receive the award.

The Aronson/Willis Memorial Award, sponsored by the Professional Staff of Howard County General Hospital, is dedicated to the late Barry Aronson, M.D., and Eugene “Pebble” Willis, M.D., both former orthopedic surgeons on staff at HCGH.

Aronson, an enthusiastic supporter and coach of school athletics, passed away in 1986. Willis, who passed away in 2009, was also active in area sports in addition to holding several key positions at the hospital through the years, including chair of Orthopaedic Surgery and member of the Board of Trustees.

Howard County General Hospital: A Member of Johns Hopkins Medicine since 1998 is a 227-bed, not-for-profit, health care provider located in Columbia, Maryland. Serving the community since 1973, the hospital has a professional staff of over 800 physicians and allied health professionals, representing 78 specialties and subspecialties; a workforce of nearly 2,000 individuals and volunteer auxilians numbering over 600. Over the past three decades, the hospital has grown into a comprehensive, acute-care medical center that offers a full range of services, from neonatal care and oncology to outpatient treatment and critical care.