In This Section      

Fellowship Research

cardiology fellowship research

The Howard S. Silverman Award is an annual event in honor of Dr. Howard S. Silverman, a former Cardiology fellow and faculty member who died in 1996 from heart disease. The Silverman Awards is a research conference in which the 2nd year cardiovascular disease fellows present their research projects to the division. The faculty award the fellow whose project is the most original, creative and has the greatest scientific potential a monetary prize and certificate.

2019 Research Projects for Third Year Fellows

Comprehensive Clinical Phenotyping of HFpEF: From Clinic to Cath Lab
Joban Vaishnav, M.D.
Mentors: Kavita Sharma, M.D.

Atrial Fibrillation in HFpEF: Bystander or Modifiable Risk Factor?
Eunice Yang, M.D.
Mentors: Hugh Calkins, M.D., Kavita Sharma, M.D., David Spragg, M.D.

Pregnancy: A Harbinger of Future Cardiovascular Events?
Anum Minhas, M.D.
Mentors: Allison Hays, M.D., Robert Weiss, M.D., Arthur Vaught, M.D., Sammy Zakaria, M.D.

Accuracy of Ultra-High-Resolution CT Coronary Angiography for Detecting Hemodynamically Significant Coronary Artery Disease
Jaqueline Latina, M.D.
Mentors: Armin Zadeh, M.D., M.P.H., Ph.D., Joao Lima, M.D.

Magnetic Resonance Coronary Angiography Revisited – A Comparison Against Computed Tomography Coronary Angiography
Karan Kapoor, M.D.
Mentors: Yoko Kato, M.D., Ph.D., Bharath Ambale-Venkatesh, Ph.D., Joao Lima, M.D.,

GLP-1 Receptor Agonists and Atrial Fibrillation Burden
Richard Jones
Mentors: David Spragg, M.D.

Influence of Modifiable Risk Factor Levels on the Development of HF and Subsequent Outcomes
Carine Hamo
Mentors: Chiadi Ndumele, M.D., Ph.D

Aortic Valve Calcification and Progression to Aortic Stenosis Outcomes
Rhanderson Cardoso
Mentors: Seamus Whelton, M.D., M.P.H., Michael Blaha, M.D., M.P.H.

The Systematic Assessment of Novel Peptides that Mimic Cooling Protection in Cardiac Arrest
Daniel Ambinder
Mentors: Henry Halperin, M.D.

Improving Cardiovascular Care Access In Resource Limited Settings By Optimizing Outpatient Referrals in Chile
Bolanle Akinyele
Mentors: Sammy Zakaria, M.D., M.P.H., Diana Prieto, Ph.D.

Past Silverman Award Winners

2018-2019     Eunice Yang, M.D.

2017-2018     Marios Arvanitis, M.D.

2016-2017     Virginia Hahn, M.D.

2015-2016     Thorsten Leucker, M.D.

2014-2015     Steven Hsu, M.D.

2013-2014     Libin Wang, M.D., Ph.D.

2012-2013     Seth Martin, M.D.

2011-2012     Grant Chow, M.D.

2010-2011     Lincoln Shenje, M.D., Ph.D.

2009-2010     Hiroshi Ashikaga, M.D., Ph.D.

2008-2009     Chao-Wei Hwang, M.D., Ph.D.

2007-2008     Dou (Alvin) Zhang, M.D., Ph.D.

2006-2007     Jacob Abraham, M.D.

2005-2006     Henry Sun, M.D.

2004-2005     Rich George, M.D.

View the 2019 abstracts here.