Print This Page
Share this page: More

Minutes: November 7, 2012


                                                         414th   MEETING OF THE FACULTY SENATE

                                                               3 pm, Wednesday, November 7th, 2012

                                                 School of Medicine Administration, Board Room 103


PRESENT: Drs. Ahuja, Barone, Carroll, Chanmugam, Crino, Dlhosh, Gonzalez-Fernandez, Gottesman, James Herman, Ishii, Kondo, Kumer, Mandell, Macura, Nyhan, Pluznick, Shuler, Srikumeran, Swartz, Witwer, Zachara, Mr. Rini, Ms. Foy

 ABSENT: Drs. Ahn, Akpek, Barker, Bienvenu, Comfort, Fine, Foy, J. Green, R. Green, Joseph Herman, Keefer, Matunis, Molinaro, Pavlovich, Poynton, Puttgen, Resar, Solomon, Tan, Taverna, Tis, Tufaro, Wade, Williams, Wolfgang, Messrs. Johnson, Mandell and Ms. Matthys

 GUESTS: Drs. Blakeslee, Fivush, Jones, Yousem, Ziegelstein


I. Minutes 


There were no minutes taken at or distributed after the October meeting.


II. Announcement

Dr. Lisa Ishii offered that President Ron Daniels will be attending the next meeting to discuss the 10 X 20 proposal and asked all members to read the proposal and come to the meeting prepared to ask questions.  It would also be helpful if they would gather questions from the faculty to share with the President.

III. Chair’s Report- Dr. Ishii  

 Dr. Ishii introduced Dr. Roy Ziegelstein who is the new Senior Associate Dean for Faculty Development and he made brief remarks.  He mentioned that Dr. Cynthia Rand  has also been named Associate Dean of Faculty for the Bayview campus.  A discussion ensued after the introduction of Dr. Ziegelstein about the parallel programs at Johns Hopkins East Baltimore campus and Bayview campus for faculty

  Dr. Linda Dillon Jones, Interim Assistant Dean for Faculty Development and Equity announced that nominations are still open for the Junior Faculty Leadership Program second cohort group which will begin in January and meet on the Bayview campus.  The program has been so well received that this second cohort is planned to avoid having to disappoint applicants.  An eform is available on the OFD website. The program is designed to meet the developmental needs of junior faculty at the assistant level with 4 years of experience or less.  The OFD also offers faculty development through a web catalogue which is available on their website.

 IV. Presentation by the Director of Technology Transfer

 Dr. Wes Blakeslee, JD, Director of Technology Transfer, discussed his initiative to improve faculty intellectual property capitalization.   This program has proved successful in recent years.  Dr. Blakeslee acknowledged the difficulties the office has had in the past. In the presentation he described how he plans to make the office much more functional and much more faculty friendly. He described how he has assembled an outstanding team who is eager to help faculty commercialize the intellectual property.

V.  Presentation by Dr. Barbara Fivush, Associate Dean for Women

 Dr. Barbara Fivush described recent efforts to support and advance the work of women across the School of Medicine and described recent gains.  Women have been advancing in recent years, but more work needs to be done.  Vice Deans are 5 times more likely to be male, and the same is true for Division Chiefs.  Only three of 33 Department Chairs  are female.  Search committees need to have more women involved.   

 There being no further business this meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m.


                                                                                                         Respectfully submitted,


                                                                                                          Arjun Chanmugam



Future Medical School Council meetings:


All meetings will be held in the School of Medicine Board Room (SOM 103), 3:00 to 5:00 p.m.


January 23rd, 2013

February 20th, 2013

March 20th, 2013

April 17th, 2013

May 8th, 2013

June 19th, 2013