In This Section      

Observation Fellowship

medical staff at computer


To produce innovative academic leaders of Acute Care Medicine.

Program Description:

Combined clinical, administrative and research program.  Clinical activity is at Johns Hopkins Hospital EACU and main ED.  Research and administration include intensive mentorship respectively.

Courses and degree programs available in Business Administration, Health Business Administration or MPH.

Clinical Requirements:

Fellows will be required to work 800 clinical hours per academic year.


Board Prepared or Certified in Emergency Medicine

Program Length: 

1 year (2 years with degree program)

Start Date:  

Usually July 1, but mid-year candidates can be considered

How to apply:

Interested candidates should email the fellowship director for more information and should provide:

  1. Personal Statement and CV
  2. Two letters of recommendation
Peter Hill, MSc, MD

Fellowship Director:

Peter Hill, MSc, MD
Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs
Department of Emergency Medicine
The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Dr. Hill joined the faculty in 1998 as Assistant Chief of Service, after serving as Chief Resident.  He co-founded the department’s Emergency-Acute Care Unit, where he still serves as Medical Director.  In addition, he is the physician leader of the Department of Emergency Medicine's 'Mid-Level Provider Group,' consisting of Nurse Practitioners and Physician Assistants who work in all three of the department's clinical venues.  He became Clinical Director for the department in 2005 and was promoted to the new role of Vice Chair of Clinical Affairs for the department in 2012.

Dr. Hill is also actively involved in the areas of emergency department operations, delivery of service, patient satisfaction, risk management and quality improvement.  He co-led restructuring of the department’s triage and patient assignment systems, resulting in reductions in walk-out and ambulance diversion rates, and dramatic improvements in the department’s patient satisfaction scores; for which the department received an institution wide award for Service Excellence.