In This Section      

Physician of the Year

The Physician of the Year award is given to the physician who consistently achieves high standards in the practice of medicine and is looked upon as a role model by his or her peers.

Ayesha Khalil, M.D.

Howard County General Hospital: Ayesha Khalil, M.D., physician, internal medicine

Compassionate and focused, Ayesha Khalil always puts patients’ needs and interests first. She has demonstrated an unswerving commitment to advancing the quality and safety of patient care within the organization. Dr. Khalil serves the hospital community in many ways, including as chair of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. Committee members have complimented her leadership skills and her ability to parse difficult data and decisions across disciplines. She also is a member of the sepsis committee, focusing on metrics and ways to improve sepsis care, and is an administrator on call for the Collaborative Inpatient Medicine Service group. Dr. Khalil demonstrates daily professionalism, compassion and commitment to every aspect of medicine and to the health of her patients and the community.

Ayesha Khalil, MD

Allison Messina, M.D.

Johns Hopkins All Children’s Hospital: Allison Messina, M.D., chair of the Division of Infectious Disease

When a challenging situation arises and the expert input of a physician is needed, Allison Messina makes herself available. Her dedication to Johns Hopkins All Children’s is evident in the many long hours she has worked to help the hospital with compliance issues. Always thorough when evaluating her patient results, Dr. Messina will often order extra susceptibility testing on patient isolates. She is always professional and treats her colleagues in a polite, respectful manner.

Allison Messina, MD

Scott Wright, M.D.

Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center: Scott Wright, M.D., chief, Division of General Internal Medicine

Scott Wright co-developed and runs the Miller-Coulson Academy of Clinical Excellence. Through the academy, Wright developed CLOSLER — for “Closer to Osler” — a social media platform with a mission to inspire health care professionals and trainees to reflect on giving exceptional care to every patient. Modeled largely after Dr. Wright’s work in the Miller-Coulson Academy, a second clinical pathway for faculty to be promoted was established at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. Dr. Wright revamped his clinical practice to provide “transition care” to patients who need an outpatient follow-up two to three days after hospital discharge. His outpatient practice, in partnership with Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center, developed an “ambulatory ICU,” where doctors care for sick patients in the outpatient realm, thus avoiding hospitalization.

Scott Wright, MD

Naaz Hussain, M.D.

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians: Naaz Hussain, M.D., office medical director, Johns Hopkins Community Physicians — Frederick

Naaz Hussain devotes herself to the superior care of her patients with great consistency year after year, and manifests the same unstinting, compassionate attitude toward her colleagues. Her heartfelt care for all is reflected in the high metrics she generates both from her patients in the Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems and from staff in the engagement and safety scores. Dr. Hussain, who has a boundless commitment to the care of the elderly, has led many efforts and innovations to improve their care. Most notably, she has been the prime force behind the Geriatric Workforce Enhancement Program initiative to secure advanced directives more intentionally by the use of an efficient protocol throughout JHCP, and has invested many hours beyond her patient commitments to successfully accomplish its use.

Naaz Hussain, MD

Fasika Woreta, M.D.

The Johns Hopkins Hospital: Fasika Woreta, M.D., director, Johns Hopkins Wilmer Eye Institute Eye Trauma Center; program director, Ophthalmology Residency Program

Attention to continuous improvement, commitment to evidence-based medicine and a focus on continuing medical education make Fasika Woreta a true role model of excellence. Since the start of her tenure, Dr. Woreta has led multiple initiatives to improve residency education. She has received a teaching or advocacy award every year she has been on faculty at Wilmer. Dr. Woreta introduced and is the sole practitioner of corneal neurotization at Wilmer — one of only a handful of centers in the nation that conducts this delicate procedure. She works with multiple ophthalmology programs across the country, the U.S. military and international groups to improve ocular trauma care.

Fasika Woreta, MD

Martin Paul, M.D.

Sibley Memorial Hospital: Martin Paul, M.D., regional director of minimally invasive surgery

A capable and knowledgeable surgeon, Martin Paul is well known for his compassionate and collaborative nature. Generous of time and spirit, he is equally dedicated to the education of patients and colleagues. Dr. Paul has been involved in moving forward the care of post-op general surgery patients by implementing protocols to decrease recovery time, narcotic use and hospital days. His work with internal medicine in addressing potential medical comorbidities and preparing preoperatively for them is yet another way that he expresses his commitment to patient care.

Martin Paul, MD

George Sotos, M.D.

Suburban Hospital: George Sotos, M.D., chief of Hematology and Oncology

Even when he is not on call, George Sotos is always willing to consult with hospitalists and the oncology unit nurses regarding the best care for oncology patients. He treats patients and families with dignity and respect and makes sure all members of the team feel valued. His kindness and soft-spoken demeanor are matched by his clinical excellence.

George Sotos, MD

View the other 2019 Clinical Awards recipients