Skip Navigation


Armstrong Award for Excellence in Quality and Safety

2017 Winners Announced

This award is presented to the physician who partners with patients, families, colleagues and staff members to optimize patient outcomes and eliminate preventable harm.

Howard County General Hospital

Hadley Wesson, M.D., M.P.H.

Hadley Wesson, assistant professor of surgery

With a rare level of commitment and enthusiasm, Dr. Wesson has participated in the hospital’s National Surgical Quality Improvement Program and Enhanced Recovery after Surgery Program, which have been very helpful at improving quality.

Johns Hopkins All Children's Hospital

Gerald Tuite, M.D.

Gerald Tuite, pediatric neurosurgeon

Dr. Tuite is the consummate physician and surgeon, highly regarded by his young patients, their families and his colleagues. He stays current with the latest technological advances and consults other specialists to ensure the best care for children.


Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center

Eric Howell, M.D.

Eric Howell, division director of the Collaborative Inpatient Medicine Service (CIMS)
Professor of medicine

Through his dedicated work on project EQUIP (Excellence in Quality, Utilization Integration and Patient-centered care), Dr. Howell has played a major role in improving quality and efficiency, reflected in reduced mortality, Maryland Hospital Acquired Conditions (MHACs), Emergency Department boarding of patients and length of stay.

Johns Hopkins Community Physicians

Susan Schrock, M.D.

Susan Schrock, office medical director of JHCP at Canton Crossing
Internist and pediatrician

Solutions-minded, energetic and proactive, Dr. Schrock is a strong, hands-on leader who collects great quality data to support performance improvement, motivating her staff to deliver compassionate care.

The Johns Hopkins Hospital

Michael Streiff, M.D.

Michael Streiff, medical director
Johns Hopkins Hospital Special Coagulation Laboratory
Associate professor of medicine

Recognized internationally for his work preventing and treating venous thromboembolism (VTE), Dr. Streiff developed specialty-specific “smart order sets” that have significantly increased the prescription of risk-appropriate VTE prophylaxis at The Johns Hopkins Hospital and reduced potentially preventable VTE episodes.

Sibley Memorial Hospital

Joshua Leifer, M.D.

Joshua Leifer, anesthesiologist

A champion of pre-surgical patient care and safety initiatives, Dr. Leifer created a preoperative medication safety booklet to guide nurses’ decision-making in pre-op medication management. He exemplifies the Sibley Memorial Hospital/Johns Hopkins Medicine mission by providing consistent, safe, education-based care to "every patient, every time."

Suburban Hospital

Vuk Sekicki, M.D.

Vuk Sekicki, hospitalist

Dr. Sekicki implemented best practices to reduce delirium among the elderly and improve sleep for all patients. He was instrumental with a nursing team in creating the Quiet at Night and the Whisper While You Work campaigns, reflected in higher HCAHPS scores.


Strategic Priorities

Patient- and Family-Centered Care

patient care icon
back to top button