Skip Navigation

COVID-19 Update


Mission Statement

In accordance with the policies and procedures set by the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, the Residency Training Program for the Department of Urology is a formal ACGME accredited post-graduate medical education program.

The Mission of Johns Hopkins SOM is tripartite: Teaching; Research & Patient Care. (Follow this link to read Hospital mission statement)

Similarly, the department of Urology holds these same three elements, as the core of its mission. Our educational program for the residents is a highly structured program designed to provide training in a broad range of urologic practices. Specifically, each level of training provides a graduated series of experiences which culminate in a fully trained academic urologist.

The Brady Urological Institute was founded on the premise that a strong emphasis on basic research is fundamental to the advancement of our field. Hence, our residents are offered multiple research opportunities throughout their residency.

During the third year of urologic training, residents are given 12 months of protected research time. It is during this research time that most of our residents fully mature in their urologic training by identifying specific areas of interest. Since its inception, the Brady Urologic Institute has had a rich tradition in leadership and innovation. In the area of patient care, the Brady Urological Institute has had a particularly strong performance, ranking #1 in the US News & World Report's for 21 consecutive years.

Resident participation in patient care is fundamental to our program, with rotations in both inpatient and outpatient care. The residency training is conducted in two separate hospitals, Johns Hopkins Hospital and the Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center.

Our program is specifically designed to produce academic urologists. Within the last 20 years, virtually all of our resident graduates have assumed faculty positions in major academic centers and many of them have gone on to become chairmen within their institution. In our current era of increasing administrative, bureaucratic and fiscal demands, success in academia requires a strong sense of purpose, excellent mentoring with strong role models, and strong clinical skills.

We believe that our program provides the optimal environment to facilitate such success.

Chief Residents

Farzana Faisal , M.D.

Farzana Faisal , M.D.
Undergraduate:Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut
Medical School: Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland

Natasha Gupta , M.D.

Natasha Gupta , M.D.
Undergraduate: Duke University
Medical School: Johns Hopkins University

Alexa Meyer , M.D.

Alexa Meyer , M.D.
Undergraduate: Columbia University
Medical School: Columbia University

Senior Residents

Russell Becker , M.D., Ph.D.

Russell Becker , M.D., Ph.D.Undergraduate: Kalamazoo College
Graduate: University of Chicago
Medical School: University of Chicago

Michael Biles , M.D.

Michael Biles , M.D.Undergraduate: Princeton University
Medical School: Columbia University 

Kelly Harris, M.D.

Kelly Harris, M.D.Undergraduate: Washington and Lee University
Medical School: Johns Hopkins University

Lab Residents

Yasin Bhanji, M.D.

Yasin Bhanji, M.D.Undergraduate: University of Chicago Chicago, IL
Medical School: Northwestern University The Feinberg School of Medicine 

Hasan Dani, M.D.

Hasan Dani, M.D.Undergraduate: University of California, Berkeley Berkeley, CA
Medical School: State University of New York Downstate Medical Center College of Medicine

James Liu, M.D.

James Liu, M.D.Undergraduate: Washington and Lee University
Medical School: Johns Hopkins University

Junior Residents

Ridwan Alam , M.D., M.P.H.

beckerUndergraduate: Wayne State University
Graduate: Johns Hopkins University
Medical School: Johns Hopkins University

Sean Fletcher, M.D.

bilesUndergraduate: Yale University
Medical School: Harvard Medical School

Andrew Gabrielson, M.D.

harrisUndergraduate: University of California, Berkeley
Medical School: Tulane Medical School

Nora Haney , M.D., M.B.A.

harrisUndergraduate: Columbia University
Graduate: Tulane University
Medical School: Tulane Medical School

Taylor Kohn, M.D., M.Phil.

harrisUndergraduate: Baylor College of Medicine
Graduate: University of Manchester, England
Medical School: Baylor College of Medicine

Katherine Rodriguez, M.D.

harrisUndergraduate: Baylor University
Medical School: Baylor College of Medicine

Logan Galansky, M.D.

Logan Galansky,
Undergraduate: Pomona College
Medical School: University of Chicago

Zhuo Tony Su, M.D. 

Zhuo Tony Su
Undergraduate: Yale University
Medical School: Johns Hopkins University

Lamont Wilkins, M.D.

Lamont Wilkins,
Undergraduate: Wayne State University
Medical School: Case Western Reserve School of Medicine
back to top button