April 22, 2010

A deeply moving video ( ) that follows pediatric patient Steven McDonough in his recovery from a complex neck operation has been nominated for a Webby Award this year.  The video chronicles McDonough’s journey after a massive tumor at the base of his brain was removed by George Jallo, M.D., clinical director of pediatric neurosurgery at the Johns Hopkins Children’s Center.

The piece, which was produced by the Johns Hopkins Medicine’s Marketing & Communication Digital Media Group was only one of five videos — out of thousands submitted — to be nominated for the 2010 Webby’s People’s Voice Award in the category of Online Film and Video – Reality.  The Webby is one of the few major awards that invite the public to participate by allowing them to vote for their favorite nominees.  Categories include Websites, Interactive Advertising, Online Film & Video and Mobile.

While the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences (IADAS) determine Webby winners, the public has the unique responsibility of voting on the People's Voice nominees.  The IADAS is an intellectually diverse organization that includes members such as musicians Beck and David Bowie; Internet inventor Vint Cerf; political columnist Arianna Huffington; Real Networks CEO Rob Glaser;  Simpsons creator, Matt Groening; R/GA Founder and Chairman Robert Greenberg; Virgin Atlantic Chairman and Founder Richard Branson; and the Weinstein Company Co-Founder Harvey Weinstein.  Members also include writers and editors from publications such as The New York Times, Wired, Details, Fast Company, Elle, The Los Angeles Times, Vibe, and WallPaper.

The Webby Awards are the leading international honors recognizing excellence on the Internet.  The 13th Annual Webby Awards received nearly 10,000 entries from over 60 countries and all 50 states generating over 750 million media impressions worldwide.  According to the organizations’ website, the Webby Awards, established in 1996 during the Web's infancy, are presented by the International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences, which includes a 750-member executive body of leading Web experts, business figures, luminaries, visionaries and creative celebrities, as well as associate members who are former Webby Award winners and nominees, and other Internet professionals.

Public voting will continue until Thursday, April 29. Winners will be announced on Tuesday, May 4, and an award presentation will take place on Monday, June 14, in New York City.

Related Websites:

The Johns Hopkins Departments of Neurology and Neurosurgery

Media Contact: John M. Lazarou