New Members Elected to Johns Hopkins Medicine Board of Trustees

Johns Hopkins Medicine
Office of Corporate Communications
Media contacts:
Gary Stephenson
410-955-5384; [email protected]
or Elaine Freeman
410-955-3194; [email protected]
June 30, 2005

New Members Elected to Johns Hopkins Medicine Board of Trustees

A collateral descendant of Johns Hopkins himself is among seven new members of the board of Johns Hopkins Medicine, elected along with leaders in the banking, real estate, public affairs and technology fields.

Janie Elizabeth (Liza) Bailey, a third great-niece of Johns Hopkins, was one of 12 collateral descendants of the university and hospital’s founder who recently endowed the Johns Hopkins Family Professorship in Oncology Research. Mrs. Bailey is a recently retired managing director of Credit Suisse First Boston, where she focused on mergers and acquisitions among food, beverage and personal care industry clients in the Americas.

Other newly elected members of the Hopkins Medicine board include:

• Robert C. Baker, chairman and chief executive officer of National Realty & Development Corporation. An expert in land acquisition, construction, financing and management, he served as secretary of the New York State Dormitory Authority, overseeing the financing and construction of approximately $1.5 billion in hospital and university buildings. He is a founding member of the advisory council of the Brady Urological Institute at The Johns Hopkins Hospital.

• Richard O. Berndt, managing partner of the Baltimore law firm of Gallagher, Evelius & Jones. First elected to the board in 1999, Berndt is a prominent business and civic leader in the city who serves on the boards of many corporate and charitable institutions.

• Philip (Phil) M. Butterfield, chief executive officer of the Bank of Bermuda, a leading provider of fund administration, trust, custody, asset management and banking services. He spent 28 years with Citibank before joining the Bank of Bermuda.

• Richard A. Forsythe, president of Forsythe Technology, Inc., a national provider of technology infrastructure solutions to industries.

• Edward W. Gillespie, founder and principal of Quinn Gillespie and Associates, a bipartisan public affairs firm providing strategic advice, public relations services and government representation to corporations, trade associations and issue-based coalitions.

Elected chairman of the board along with these new members was C. Michael Armstrong, the retired chairman of Comcast, AT&T and Hughes Electronics. Also a former chairman of the IBM World Trade Corporation, Armstrong is a trustee of The Johns Hopkins University and the Johns Hopkins Health System; served as chairman of the Board of Visitors of Johns Hopkins Medicine, and endowed the C. Michael Armstrong Professorship in Medicine to foster Hopkins’ continuing leadership role in stem cell research.

A complete list of the members of the board is below.


C. Michael Armstrong, Chairman
William C. Baker, Vice Chairman
Francis X. Knott, Vice Chairman
Shale D. Stiller, Esq., Vice Chairman

Janie Elizabeth Bailey
Lenox D. Baker Jr., M.D.
Robert C. Baker
H. Furlong Baldwin
Robert M. Bell
Sherry F. Bellamy, Esq.
Richard O. Berndt
David H. Bernstein
Andrew J. Bozzelli
*Andre W. Brewster
William R. Brody, M.D., Ph.D.
George L. Bunting Jr.
Francis B. Burch Jr.
Philip M. Butterfield
Edward L. Cahill
Constance R. Caplan
*A. James Clark
Charles W. Cummings, M.D.
Ronda K. Dean
*Leslie B. Disharoon
James T. Dresher Jr.
Edward K. Dunn Jr.
Manuel Dupkin II
Pamela P. Flaherty
Richard A. Forsythe
Nicholas J. Fortuin, M.D.
Edward W. Gillespie
Sanford D. Greenberg, Ph.D.
*Robert D.H. Harvey
*Alan P. Hoblitzell
Stuart S. Janney
Edward J. Kelly III
A. B. Krongard, Esq.

Ex Officio indicated in bold.

Emeriti indicated by an asterisk*.

Robert D. Kunisch
Jeffrey A. Legum
Traci S. Lerner
Raymond A. Mason
*Robert E. Mason, M.D.
*William J. McCarthy, Esq.
W. Brian McGowan
*Harvey M. Meyrehoff
*Milton H. Miller Sr.
*Frederick O. Mitchell
Arthur B. Modell
Diana Motz
Morris W. Offit
*Anne M. Pinkard
Walter D. Pinkard
Christian H. Poindexter
Alice Reid
Arnold I. Richman
Francis G. Riggs
Theo C. Rodgers
*Henry A. Rosenberg
*Richard S. Ross, M.D.
*B. Francis Saul II
Alton J. Scavo
Mayo A. Shattuck III
Huntingdon Sheldon, M.D.
Donald J. Shepard
*R. Champlin Sheridan
*Wendell A. Smith, Esq.
Thomas G. Snead Jr.
Louis B. Thalheimer
Beverly White-Seals, Esq.
*Calman J. Zamoiski