Print This Page
Share this page: More

Innovators Combating Substance Abuse Award Lecture Scheduled

Johns Hopkins Medicine
Office of Corporate Communications
Media Contact: Trent Stockton
410-955-8665 /
November 9, 2004

Innovators Combating Substance Abuse Award Lecture Scheduled

The work of our nation’s innovators in controlling and preventing addiction will be highlighted at the Second Annual Innovators Awards Program Lecture in Turner Auditorium at The Johns Hopkins School of Medicine, 5 p.m., Nov. 10. 

Sponsored by The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Innovators Combating Substance Abuse Awards Program, this year’s lecture will be given by Michael C. Fiore, M.D., the University of Wisconsin physician who got smoking status included in the nation’s medical charts.  The topic will be “Treating Tobacco Addiction:  Effective Strategies for the 21st Century.”

“By sponsoring this lecture, we hope to showcase true innovation in addiction research, prevention, treatment and policy development and to facilitate dialogue among those who work in these areas,” says Jack Henningfield, Ph.D., director of the Innovators program and adjunct professor of behavioral biology in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Johns Hopkins.

Fiore will describe science-based actions that, if adopted, will radically reduce smoking’s toll of disease and death.  He also will discuss effective strategies for treatment that physicians can incorporate into their practices. Following Fiore’s remarks, Scott J. Leischow, Ph.D., senior advisor for tobacco policy to Health and Human Services Secretary Tommy Thompson, will comment on the federal role in promoting treatment of tobacco addiction.  Fiore, Leischow, Henningfield and J. Raymond DePaulo, Jr., M.D., professor and director of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at Johns Hopkins, will then join in a panel discussion and question-and-answer session on challenges facing doctors, hospitals, researchers and policy-makers in reducing the devastating toll caused by tobacco use. 

A reception will follow the lecture.  For more on the lecture and the Innovators Awards, please visit