Print This Page
Share this page: More

Cancer Gene Hunter Bert Vogelstein Receives Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award for Science

Contact: Amy Mone Heaps or Valerie Mehl
(410) 955-1287 or 

Cancer Gene Hunter Bert Vogelstein Receives Spain’s Prince of Asturias Award for Science

Bert Vogelstein, M.D., cancer researcher at the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center and Howard Hughes Medical Institute, has been chosen for the 2004 Prince of Asturias Award for Scientific and Technical Research.  The award is recognized as one of the world’s most important lifetime achievements in science and was given to Vogelstein and investigations at four other institutions for their contributions to unraveling the mysteries of cancer genetics and pursuing novel therapies for the disease.

Vogelstein’s pivotal discoveries that describe the roles of some of the most common cancer genes, such as p53 and APC, have become models for current cancer genetics research.  He is the most highly cited scientist in the world, and currently co-directs the Molecular Genetics Laboratory at the Johns Hopkins Kimmel Cancer Center.

“This award represents decades of research with my colleagues and trainees in this laboratory in efforts to find more effective ways to prevent, detect, and treat cancer, and I am honored to be sharing the award with the distinguished scientists that have helped pushed the cancer research field forward,” says Vogelstein, Clayton Professor of Oncology at the Kimmel Cancer Center.

Other awardees for this year’s science award include Judah Folkman of Harvard University, Tony Hunter from the Salk Institute, Joan Massagué of the Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center, Robert Weinberg at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Vogelstein is scheduled to receive his award, along with the other recipients, at the Foundation’s annual awards ceremony on October 22 in Spain.  The award is named for Prince Felipe de Borbón, heir to the Spanish throne.  During the ceremony, Vogelstein and other awardees will receive 50,000 euros (approximately $50,000 U.S. dollars) and a sculpture by the Spanish artist Joan Miró.  Since 1980, the annual awards have recognized achievements in a variety of categories including science, communications and humanities, the arts, literature, social sciences, international cooperation, and sports.  Past recipients include Nelson Mandela, Mikhail Gorbachev, Lance Armstrong and Jane Goodall.


  Prince of Asturias Foundation web site (