In This Section      

Research Retreat

Register for the Research Retreat

Submit an Abstract

Submit a Mentoring Award

To view a webcast of the retreat, click here.

research retreat save the date

Research Retreat Schedule

Click speakers' names for biographical information

8:00 a.m.Registration/Poster Check-in and Poster Hanging
8:30 a.m.

Director's Welcome/Opening Remarks
Mark Anderson, MD, PhD
Director, Department of Medicine

8:45 a.m.Whiting School of Engineering Dean's Opening Remarks
T.E. "Ed" Schlesinger
Benjamin T. Rome Dean
9:00 a.m.Keynote Speaker
Robert S. Langer, PhD
MIT David H. Koch Institute Professor
10:00 a.m.Internal Speakers
MedicineJay Pasricha, MD, MBBS, Professor of Medicine and Neuroscience
                  Vice Chair for Innovation and Commercialization
Engineering: Natalia Trayanova, PhD, FHRS, FAHA, Murray B. Sachs Endowed Chair
                       Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Medicine
10:55 a.m.Vice Chair Presentations
Gregory Kirk, MD, MPH, PhD / Brian O'Rourke, PhD
Vice Chair for Clinical and Translational Research / Vice Chair for Basic and Translational Research
"DOM Research Mission and Initiatives"
11:15 a.m.

Introduction of the Art as Applied to Medicine Division
Corinne Sandone, MA, CMI
Interim Director, Department of Art as Applied to Medicine
Director, Graduate Program in Medical and Biological Illustration

11:30 a.m.Poster Session (odd numbers)
12:30 p.m.LUNCH and Art as Applied to Medicine Exhibit
1:30 p.m.Poster Session (even numbers)
2:30 p.m.

Mentoring Awards
The David M. Levine Excellence in Mentoring Award
Presenter: David M. Levine, MD

The Frederick L. Brancati Excellence in Mentoring Award
Presenter: TBD

2:45 p.m.Basic, Clinical and Engineering Research Awards
Medicine Presenters: Gregory Kirk, MD, MPH, PhD and Brian O'Rourke, PhD
Engineering Presenter: Sharon Gerecht, PhD
3:00 p.m.Presentations by Basic Faculty, Clinical Faculty and Engineering Award Winners
3:45 p.m.Retreat Closing and Poster Removal

Please direct general questions to the Retreat Co-chairs, Dr. Enid Neptune or Dr. Peter Abadir and administrative questions regarding poster submissions and requirements, the mentoring awards, retreat registration, etc., to

You must register for the Research Retreat.