In This Section      

Task Force on Women's Academic Careers in Medicine (TF)

Annual Sponsorship Award

This Award recognizes a Department of Medicine Faculty member who has demonstrated a commitment to supporting and advancing women faculty and fellows by acting as a sponsor. Sponsorship Awards to be presented at the 2017 Women’s Task Force Annual Dinner on Tuesday, June 6, 2017.

A sponsor is a person in a leadership position who actively supports the career advancement of a more junior faculty member or trainee in whom they see career and leadership potential. Sponsorship activities may include but are not limited to the following: nominating women for (i) awards, (ii) scholarships, (iii) editorial boards, (iv) meeting/session chairs, (v) high profile institutional and national committees. A sponsor may also play a key role in coaching women for leadership roles. A mentor may act as a sponsor, although not all mentors are in a position to serve as a sponsor. Recent evidence suggests that sponsorship is important for career success, and may be critical to advancing the careers of women and under-represented minorities as well as addressing disparities in leadership positions. 

Annual Sponsorship Award Winners:

2015 - Jeanne Clark, MD, MPH
Director, Division of General Internal Medicine
Professor of Medicine

2015 - Roy Ziegelstein, MD, MPH
Sarah Miller Coulson and Frank L. Coulson, Jr. Professor of Medicine
Vice Dean for Education, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Mary Wallace Stanton Professor of Education
Professor of Medicine

2016 - Trish Perl, MD, MSc
Jay P. Sanford Professor of Medicine
Chief of Infectious Diseases, University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and Medical Center

2016 - Lawrence J. Appel, MD, MPH
Director, Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research, The Johns Hopkins University
The C. David Molina, M.D., M.P.H. Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology and International Health
Professor of Medicine

2017 – Sonye Danoff, MD, PhD
Associate Professor of Medicine

2017 - David Levine, MD
Director, Office of Postdoctoral Fellowship Programs, Department of Medicine
Professor of Medicine

2018 - Lisa Cooper, MD, MPH
Bloomberg Distinguished Professor
Health and Healthcare Equity
Professor of Medicine

2018 - Robert A. Wise, MD
Director of Research, Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Professor of Medicine

2019 - Josef Coresh, MD, PhD
Director, Cardiovascular Epidemiology Training Program
Director, George W. Comstock Center for Public Health Research and Prevention
Joint Appointment in Medicine

2019 - Nadia Hansel, MD, MPH
Associate Dean for Research, Johns Hopkins Medicine
Chair, Johns Hopkins Bayview Scientific Advisory Board
Professor of Medicine