Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Dr. Harry Quigley Awarded the Leslie Dana Medal

At a Gala Dinner April 9, 2011, Dr. Harry A. Quigley, Director of the Wilmer Eye Insitute's Glaucoma Center of Excellence, was awarded the prestigious Leslie Dana Medal by the St. Louis Society for the Blind and Visually Impaired. On this day, the 100th anniversary of the St. Louis Society, the medal was awarded for the 61st time since 1925 for, “long meritorious service for the conservation of eyesight research and instruction in ophthalmology, social service for control of eye diseases, or special discoveries in the domain of general science or medicine of exceptional importance in conservation of vision.” Dr. Quigley’s work in laboratory, clinical, and world public health research related to glaucoma has been cited as having the greatest impact on other researchers in the field of ophthalmology for the last 30 years, in a review of eye literature.

Past awardees of the Dana Medal include Dr. Quigley’s mentors and colleagues: A. Edward Maumenee, Arnall Patz, and Alfred Sommer- all of the Wilmer Eye Institute at Johns Hopkins. Dr Quigley is a native St. Louisan, and did his first eye research as an undergraduate student at Washington University, St. Louis in the laboratory of Jay Enoch, PhD. Dr. Quigley has previously been awarded the Friedenwald Award of the Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology and the Doyne Medal of the Oxford (United Kingdom) Congress of Ophthalmology.

Sanford Greenberg Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Gehlbach Project Selected by Johns Hopkins-Coulter Translational Project Partnership- 06/23/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Speaks at Senate Briefing on Special Diabetes Program- 06/09/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Discusses Blue Light Effects on the Eyes in the Washington Post- 06/02/16

Dr. Arevalo Honored by National Institute of Ophthalmology in Peru- 5/31/16

Dr. Jennifer Thorne Appointed President-elect of American Uveitis Society- 5/17/16

Dr. Ingrid Zimmer-Galler Elected to the ATA College of Fellows- 5/13/16

Dr. Arevalo Launches New Book at ARVO 2016- 5/09/16

Dr. Elia J. Duh is elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation- 4/28/16

Dr. Maria Valeria Canto Soler Wins BrightFocus Award for Macular Degeneration Research- 4/27/16

Three Wilmer Faculty Voted Most Influential in Field of Ophthalmology- 4/22/2016

Dr. Pradeep Ramulu Wins Pisart Award for Significant Achievement in Vision Science Research- 4/21/16

Dr. Eghrari Receives Alcon Early Career Research Award- 4/13/16

Dr. Quigley Honored by American Glaucoma Society- 4/11/16

Dr. Ian Pitha Awarded Grants for Glaucoma Research- 4/11/16