Skip Navigation
Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Justin Hanes, Ph.D. Honored as the New Lewis J. Ort Professor and Director of the Center for Nanomedicine

August 2011

Sisters Kim Alkire and Marlee, Cherie , and Karen Ort were invited to Wilmer this August to meet Justin Hanes, Ph.D., the new Lewis J. Ort Professor and Director of the Center for Nanomedicine; for a special champagne toast and tour of the Smith Building. Dr. Hanes is working with other Wilmer investigators to focus the power of nanotechnology on creating new drug and gene therapies for patients with vision disorders, including those that affect the back of the eye, such as age-related macular degeneration; and those that affect the cornea, such as Fuch’s dystrophy. The Ort Family Professorship was created with a $1 million pledge in 1989 and fully funded in 1991 by their late father, Lewis J. Ort, who became a devoted supporter of ophthalmology at Wilmer after receiving care for detached retina. Mr. Ort was out of the country doing philanthropic work when he literally crawled his way to Wilmer, and found what he described to his family as the best eye facility in the world. After treatment at the Wilmer Eye Institute, Mr. Ort chaired the Advisory Board, increasing its size and influence. During that time, he became great friends with Dr. Edward Maumenee and Dr. Arnall Patz. Today, Karen Alkire, Marlee Ort, and Cherie Ort serve as active members of the Wilmer Advisory Council. Karen Ort is currently Chair of the Frederick N. Griffith Foundation, which is a support organization for Tissue Bank International- a non-profit organization for the transplant of human tissue. Their support of medicine at Johns Hopkins and family-owned company, Fibred-Maryland, Inc are the continuing legacy of Lewis J. Ort, who pioneered commercially viable, high fiber, low calorie baking products.

Ort Professorship 1

Unveiling of the professorship plaque. L to R: Marlee Ort, Karen Ort, Kim Alkire, Dr.
Justin Hanes (not pictured- Cherie Ort)

Ort Professorship 2

L to R: Marlee Ort, Dr. Justin Hanes, Karen Ort, Kim Alkire, Dr. Peter J. McDonnell

Ort Professorship 3

Center for Nanomedicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine staff

Ort Professorship 4

Dr. Peter J. McDonnell and Dr. Justin Hanes

Dr. Sheila West on the Link Between Smoking and Eye Disease in Women - 7/23/2014

Dr. Pradeep Ramulu and Colleagues Study Relationship Between Vision Loss and Work Status - 7/18/2014

Wilmer Resident Receives Lindstrom Research Grant - 7/11/2014

Four Wilmer Researchers Receive BrightFocus Foundation Awards - 7/10/2014

Dr. Michael Repka Part of Team Researching Telemedicine and ROP - 6/27/2014

Dr. M. Valeria Canto-Soler and Colleagues Featured on WBAL-TV - 6/24/2014

Dr. M. Valeria Canto-Soler and Colleagues Use Human Stem Cells to Create Light-Sensitive Retina in a Dish - 6/10/2014

Wilmer's Division of Ocular Immunology Announces "Living With Uveitis" Support Group - 6/10/2014

Dr. Neil Bressler to Speak on Diabetic Retinopathy at National Eye Health Summit and Webcast - 6/10/2014

Dr. Donald Zack Receives a Research to Prevent Blindness Nelson Trust Award for Retinitis Pigmentosa - 6/9/2014

Dr. Michael Boland Leads Study on Effectiveness of Automated Telecommunication-Based Reminders on Adherence to Glaucoma Medication Dosing - 6/4/2014

Dr. Christina Prescott Discusses Summer Eye Protection on Fox 45 News - 6/1/2014

Dr. Jonathan Song Discusses Treatment Options for Pediatric Cataracts - 5/23/2014

Johns Hopkins' Jordan Green Discusses His Work at Wilmer's Translational Tissue Engineering Center - 5/21/2014

Longtime Wilmer Employee Lillie Alston Honored by Hopkins - 5/19/2014

Dr. Richard Semba: Diets Rich in Antioxidant Resveratrol Fail to Reduce Deaths, Heart Disease or Cancer - 5/12/2014

Dr. Neil Miller Explains Eye Twitching in The Wall Street Journal - 5/12/2014

Dr. Hendrik Scholl Receives ARVO Award - 5/7/2014


Traveling for care?

blue suitcase

Whether crossing the country or the globe, we make it easy to access world-class care at Johns Hopkins.

U.S. 1-410-464-6713 (toll free)
International +1-410-614-6424



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy and Disclaimer