Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Scenes from Wilmer's 25th Annual Research Meeting

April 15, 2014

On Friday, April 11, Wilmer hosted its 25th annual Research Meeting. Designed to showcase the work of Wilmer's young researchers, the day-long event featured 20 oral presentations and 25 poster presentations. Dr. Scott Whitcup, executive vice president of research and development and chief scientific officer at Allergan, delivered the keynote address, "Targeted Therapy for Ocular Disease: Drug Delivery and Drug Design."

Unique this year was the presentation of awards to the most distinguished young researchers. In addition to being recognized for excellence in their work, they each received a small monetary award to assist them with their research goals. Recipients were: Siva Kambhampati (Kannan Rangaramanujan’s lab); Brooks Puchner (Akrit Sodhi’s lab); Gregory Greene (Sheila West’s lab); Karl Wahlin (Donald Zack’s lab); Jiang Qian (faculty) and Angeline Nguyen (Pradeep Ramulu’s lab).

Organizing committee chair Pradeep Ramulu, M.D., Ph.D., an associate professor of ophthalmology in Wilmer's glaucoma division, was enthusiastic about the event's success: "It was a great opportunity for our young scientists to showcase their hard work with the rest of the Wilmer community and with our visiting speaker, Dr. Whitcup."


The pictures below captured the buzz of the midday poster session in the atrium of the Robert H. and Clarice Smith Building, home to Wilmer's research faculty and their labs:

Wilmer Research Meeting

Wilmer Research Meeting

Wilmer Research Meeting

Wilmer Research Meeting

Sanford Greenberg Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Gehlbach Project Selected by Johns Hopkins-Coulter Translational Project Partnership- 06/23/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Speaks at Senate Briefing on Special Diabetes Program- 06/09/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Discusses Blue Light Effects on the Eyes in the Washington Post- 06/02/16

Dr. Arevalo Honored by National Institute of Ophthalmology in Peru- 5/31/16

Dr. Jennifer Thorne Appointed President-elect of American Uveitis Society- 5/17/16

Dr. Ingrid Zimmer-Galler Elected to the ATA College of Fellows- 5/13/16

Dr. Arevalo Launches New Book at ARVO 2016- 5/09/16

Dr. Elia J. Duh is elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation- 4/28/16

Dr. Maria Valeria Canto Soler Wins BrightFocus Award for Macular Degeneration Research- 4/27/16

Three Wilmer Faculty Voted Most Influential in Field of Ophthalmology- 4/22/2016

Dr. Pradeep Ramulu Wins Pisart Award for Significant Achievement in Vision Science Research- 4/21/16

Dr. Eghrari Receives Alcon Early Career Research Award- 4/13/16

Dr. Quigley Honored by American Glaucoma Society- 4/11/16

Dr. Ian Pitha Awarded Grants for Glaucoma Research- 4/11/16