Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Four Wilmer Researchers Receive BrightFocus Foundation Awards


Wilmer Eye Institute is pleased to announce that Hu Huang, Ph.D., Imran Bhutto, M.D., Ph.D., Debasish Sinha, Ph.D., and Derek Welsbie, M.D., Ph.D., are recipients of BrightFocus Foundation research grants. A total of 55 researchers in the areas of Alzheimer's Disease, glaucoma and macular degeneration received awards this year:

Dr. Huang, a research associate, received $120,000 for his project, "Mechanisms By Which Cxcr5 Regulates Pathogenesis of Macular Degeneration."

Dr. Bhutto, a research associate working with Dr. Gerald Lutty in Wilmer's Ocular Vasculogenesis and Angiogenesis Laboratory, received $120,000 to study, "Inflammatory Cells In Choroid During Age-Related Macular Degeneration in Relationship to Retinal Pigmented Epithelium (RPE) Atrophy and Vascular Attenuation."

Dr. Sinha, director of Wilmer's Glia Research Laboratory, received $120,000 to study, "Understanding How Dysregulation of Autophagy/Phagocytosis Activates the Immune System in Retinal Pigmented Epithelium Cells, Leading to Age-Related Macular Degeneration." 

Dr. Welsbie, an assistant professor of ophthalmology in Wilmer's glaucoma division, received $100,000 to study, "Developing Dual Leucine Zipper Kinase Inhibitors for Glaucoma."

Sanford Greenberg Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Gehlbach Project Selected by Johns Hopkins-Coulter Translational Project Partnership- 06/23/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Speaks at Senate Briefing on Special Diabetes Program- 06/09/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Discusses Blue Light Effects on the Eyes in the Washington Post- 06/02/16

Dr. Arevalo Honored by National Institute of Ophthalmology in Peru- 5/31/16

Dr. Jennifer Thorne Appointed President-elect of American Uveitis Society- 5/17/16

Dr. Ingrid Zimmer-Galler Elected to the ATA College of Fellows- 5/13/16

Dr. Arevalo Launches New Book at ARVO 2016- 5/09/16

Dr. Elia J. Duh is elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation- 4/28/16

Dr. Maria Valeria Canto Soler Wins BrightFocus Award for Macular Degeneration Research- 4/27/16

Three Wilmer Faculty Voted Most Influential in Field of Ophthalmology- 4/22/2016

Dr. Pradeep Ramulu Wins Pisart Award for Significant Achievement in Vision Science Research- 4/21/16

Dr. Eghrari Receives Alcon Early Career Research Award- 4/13/16

Dr. Quigley Honored by American Glaucoma Society- 4/11/16

Dr. Ian Pitha Awarded Grants for Glaucoma Research- 4/11/16