Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Dr. David Guyton Awarded Parks Medal


David Guyton

Dr. David L. Guyton, the Krieger Professor of Pediatric Ophthalmology, was awarded the Marshall M. Parks, M.D., Medal at the recent American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus (AAPOS) annual meeting in Palm Springs, California. Presented by the AAPOS and the Children's Eye Foundation, the medal recognizes excellence in contributions to the field of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus.

Dr. Guyton joined the Wilmer faculty in 1977. He is internationally known for his contributions, inventions and teaching in the fields of ophthalmic optics, clinical refraction, potential acuity testing and ocular motility. He combines his expertise in clinical optics with his facility in the design and construction of optical/mechanical instruments, which he does in his own basement machine shop in his home. The most recent of his 300+ publications and 11 U.S. patents deal with remote optical systems and automated screening devices for detection of strabismus and defocus in infants and children.

To read more about Dr. Guyton and the Parks medal, visit the Children's Eye Foundation website.

Sanford Greenberg Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Gehlbach Project Selected by Johns Hopkins-Coulter Translational Project Partnership- 06/23/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Speaks at Senate Briefing on Special Diabetes Program- 06/09/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Discusses Blue Light Effects on the Eyes in the Washington Post- 06/02/16

Dr. Arevalo Honored by National Institute of Ophthalmology in Peru- 5/31/16

Dr. Jennifer Thorne Appointed President-elect of American Uveitis Society- 5/17/16

Dr. Ingrid Zimmer-Galler Elected to the ATA College of Fellows- 5/13/16

Dr. Arevalo Launches New Book at ARVO 2016- 5/09/16

Dr. Elia J. Duh is elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation- 4/28/16

Dr. Maria Valeria Canto Soler Wins BrightFocus Award for Macular Degeneration Research- 4/27/16

Three Wilmer Faculty Voted Most Influential in Field of Ophthalmology- 4/22/2016

Dr. Pradeep Ramulu Wins Pisart Award for Significant Achievement in Vision Science Research- 4/21/16

Dr. Eghrari Receives Alcon Early Career Research Award- 4/13/16

Dr. Quigley Honored by American Glaucoma Society- 4/11/16

Dr. Ian Pitha Awarded Grants for Glaucoma Research- 4/11/16