Skip Navigation
Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Wilmer Professor Receives Alcon Award

July 9, 2012

Wilmer Eye Institute would like to congratulate Dr. David Friedman, Alfred Sommer Professor of Ophthalmology, on being honored by the Alcon Research Institute at its annual symposium with a $100,000 research grant. Dr. Friedman was one of six ophthalmologists to receive an award this year. Awardees are nominated by their peers and selections are based on their contributions to ophthalmic research.

Dr. Friedman, who also holds an appointment as a professor in the Department of International Health at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, is a world-renowned glaucoma specialist and cataract surgeon whose research focuses on the mechanisms, epidemiology and prevention of angle-closure glaucoma. His current research in angle-closure glaucoma is being conducted through clinical trials in south China.

He graduated summa cum laude from Yale University, received his medical degree from Harvard University and his Ph.D. in epidemiology from Johns Hopkins University. Dr. Friedman completed his residency in ophthalmology at Wills Eye Hospital and was a glaucoma fellow at Wilmer.

Dr. Sheila West on the Link Between Smoking and Eye Disease in Women - 7/23/2014

Dr. Pradeep Ramulu and Colleagues Study Relationship Between Vision Loss and Work Status - 7/18/2014

Wilmer Resident Receives Lindstrom Research Grant - 7/11/2014

Four Wilmer Researchers Receive BrightFocus Foundation Awards - 7/10/2014

Dr. Michael Repka Part of Team Researching Telemedicine and ROP - 6/27/2014

Dr. M. Valeria Canto-Soler and Colleagues Featured on WBAL-TV - 6/24/2014

Dr. M. Valeria Canto-Soler and Colleagues Use Human Stem Cells to Create Light-Sensitive Retina in a Dish - 6/10/2014

Wilmer's Division of Ocular Immunology Announces "Living With Uveitis" Support Group - 6/10/2014

Dr. Neil Bressler to Speak on Diabetic Retinopathy at National Eye Health Summit and Webcast - 6/10/2014

Dr. Donald Zack Receives a Research to Prevent Blindness Nelson Trust Award for Retinitis Pigmentosa - 6/9/2014

Dr. Michael Boland Leads Study on Effectiveness of Automated Telecommunication-Based Reminders on Adherence to Glaucoma Medication Dosing - 6/4/2014

Dr. Christina Prescott Discusses Summer Eye Protection on Fox 45 News - 6/1/2014

Dr. Jonathan Song Discusses Treatment Options for Pediatric Cataracts - 5/23/2014

Johns Hopkins' Jordan Green Discusses His Work at Wilmer's Translational Tissue Engineering Center - 5/21/2014

Longtime Wilmer Employee Lillie Alston Honored by Hopkins - 5/19/2014

Dr. Richard Semba: Diets Rich in Antioxidant Resveratrol Fail to Reduce Deaths, Heart Disease or Cancer - 5/12/2014

Dr. Neil Miller Explains Eye Twitching in The Wall Street Journal - 5/12/2014

Dr. Hendrik Scholl Receives ARVO Award - 5/7/2014


Traveling for care?

blue suitcase

Whether crossing the country or the globe, we make it easy to access world-class care at Johns Hopkins.

U.S. 1-410-464-6713 (toll free)
International +1-410-614-6424



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy and Disclaimer