Skip Navigation
Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Dr. Fernando Arevalo Named Ball Professor of Ophthalmology

 Ball professorship dedication

(L-R): Dr. Peter J. McDonnell, Dr. Fernando Arevalo, Dr. Paul B. Rothman, Ronald R. Peterson, Dr. Robert C. Lieberman 

On Thursday, November 14, 2013, Dr. Fernando Arevalo was officially named the inaugural Edmund F. and Virginia B. Ball Professor of Ophthalmology at the Wilmer Eye Institute. Dr. Arevalo, a retina specialist and native of Venezuela, is currently chief of the retina division at King Khaled Eye Specialist Hospital (KKESH), Wilmer's affiliate hospital in Saudi Arabia.

Edmund and Virginia Ball were active members of the Wilmer Advisory Board and generously supported the Wilmer Eye Institute for many years. A particular interest of theirs was research on macular degeneration and other retinal disorders.



© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.