Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Wilmer Eye Institute
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Zeiss LSM 510 Meta Confocal Microscope

Zeiss LSM 510 Meta Confocal and Zeiss LSM 510 Meta Offline Workstation


The Zeiss LSM 510 Meta Confocal Microscope comes with the following features:

  • 7 laser lines to select from
    • UV 405nm at 25mW (for violet excitation of dyes such as BFP, DAPI, Hoechst, AMCA)
    • Tunable Argon 458/477/488/514nm at 30mW (458,477, and 488 for blue excitation of dyes such as GFP, CFP, FITC, CY2; 514 for green excitation of dyes)
    • Hene 543nm at 1mW (as well as Argon 514 for green excitation of dyes such as Rhodamine, CY3, YFP, Propidium Iodide, Alexa 546)
    • Hene 633nm at 3mW (for red excitation for dyes such as CY5)
  • 2 PMTs (photomultiplier tubes)
  • 1 Meta detector (polychromatic detector, can also be used as third PMT)
  • Axiovert 200 Wide field fluorescence microscope with the following 5 lenses:
    • 5X Plan-Apochromat/0.16 NA
    • 10X Plan-Neo/0.3 NA
    • 20X Plan-Apo/0.75 NA with DIC capability
    • 40X Plan-Neo/1.3 NA Oil with DIC capability
    • 63X Plan-Apo/1.4 NA Oil with DIC capability
  • Incubation system for live cell work
  • Offline LSM workstation for image manipulation and analysis after capture

What can it do for you?

Helpful Link for Confocal Microscopy

  • Download site for free Zeiss LSM browser
    This site will allow you to download the free Zeiss LSM browser on your personal workstation.  This program will allow you to do basic browsing of the LSM format images and exporting for manipulation in other packages.

Downloadable Instructional PDFs and articles on confocal techniques with the LSM 510 Meta system.

Sanford Greenberg Elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Gehlbach Project Selected by Johns Hopkins-Coulter Translational Project Partnership- 06/23/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Speaks at Senate Briefing on Special Diabetes Program- 06/09/16

Dr. Neil Bressler Discusses Blue Light Effects on the Eyes in the Washington Post- 06/02/16

Dr. Arevalo Honored by National Institute of Ophthalmology in Peru- 5/31/16

Dr. Jennifer Thorne Appointed President-elect of American Uveitis Society- 5/17/16

Dr. Ingrid Zimmer-Galler Elected to the ATA College of Fellows- 5/13/16

Dr. Arevalo Launches New Book at ARVO 2016- 5/09/16

Dr. Elia J. Duh is elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation- 4/28/16

Dr. Maria Valeria Canto Soler Wins BrightFocus Award for Macular Degeneration Research- 4/27/16

Three Wilmer Faculty Voted Most Influential in Field of Ophthalmology- 4/22/2016

Dr. Pradeep Ramulu Wins Pisart Award for Significant Achievement in Vision Science Research- 4/21/16

Dr. Eghrari Receives Alcon Early Career Research Award- 4/13/16

Dr. Quigley Honored by American Glaucoma Society- 4/11/16

Dr. Ian Pitha Awarded Grants for Glaucoma Research- 4/11/16