January 2010

Damon Runyon Clinical Investigator Award for 2010


The Damon Runyon Clinical Investigator Award supports young physician-scientists conducting patient-oriented cancer research. The goal is to increase the number of physicians capable of moving seamlessly between the laboratory and the patient's bedside in search of breakthrough treatments. The awardee will receive financial support for three years, as well as assistance with certain research costs such as the purchase of equipment. The Foundation will also retire up to $100,000 of any medical school debt still owed by the awardee.

The School of Medicine has been invited to submit three nominations for the Damon Runyon Clinical Investigator Award. Interested candidates should email a complete (Adobe) PDF file of materials for internal review to Karen Justice-White at kjustice@jhmi.edu no later than 5:00 p.m. on January 29, 2010. Doing so ensures that the internal selection can be completed in a timely fashion and the final nominations can be submitted to the Damon Runyon Cancer Research Foundation by their March 1, 2010 deadline.

Required materials for internal review:

  1. Internal Information Sheet (contact kjustice@jhmi.edu for a copy)
  2. Brief summary (one page) of proposed research project
  3. Applicant's CV

For more information on this funding opportunity:

Lasker Foundation Medical Research Awards

The Lasker Foundation will offer Medical Research Awards in three categories: Basic Medical Research, Clinical Medical Research, and Special Achievement.

The Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Award honors scientists whose fundamental investigations have provided techniques, information, or concepts contributing to the elimination of major causes of disability and death.

The Lasker~DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award honors investigators whose contributions have improved the clinical treatment of patients.

The Lasker~Koshland Special Achievement Award in Medical Science honors scientists whose contributions to research are of unique magnitude and have immeasurable influence on the course of science, health, or medicine, and whose professional careers have engendered within the biomedical community the deepest feelings of awe and respect.

The deadline for nominations is February 1, 2010. For complete details and nomination instructions, click here: http://www.laskerfoundation.org/nominate.htm

Global Probiotics Council - Young Investigator Grant for Probiotics Research (YIGPRO)

Program Deadline: Tuesday, February 16, 2009

The Global Probiotics Council (GPC), a committee established in 2004 by DANONE and Yakult Honsha Co., Ltd., has announced the third annual Young Investigator Grant for Probiotics Research (YIGPRO). The purpose of the two annual grants of $50,000 each is to contribute to the advancement of probiotics and gastrointestinal microbiota research in the United States, and to attract promising, young researchers to this field of study.

Young investigators who are senior fellows with a committed faculty appointment or an early faculty member within five years of their first appointment who are interested in understanding the health benefits of probiotics and the relationship between probiotics, gastrointestinal microbiota and the body are encouraged to apply. A program flyer and an application summary are attached. The official announcement and specific description of this opportunity may be found on the funding agency's website: http://www.probioticsresearch.com/

2010 Senior Scholar Awards in Aging

The Ellison Medical Foundation is accepting Hopkins' applicants for this program to support established investigators in the development of "new, creative research programs." The total amount of the award is $150K per year for up to four years. Applicants who are interested in applying for this award "may not currently be conducting aging research or who may wish to develop new research programs in aging." Interested researchers should submit a Letter of Intent directly to the Ellison Medical Foundation by Thursday, March 4, 2010. (Current or past Senior Scholar Awardees are not eligible.) Instructions to submit a letter online are available at: http://www.ellisonfoundation.org/files/2010_Senior_Scholar_LOI_Instructions.pdf.

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Mike Alexander (malexander@jhu.edu or 410-516-8734).

Return to top of Funding Opportunities

January 2010 articles:
Prospective Reimbursement Analysis
Seminar Series
Damon Runyon Clinical Investigator Award for 2010
Lasker Foundation Medical Research Awards
Global Probiotics Council - Young Investigator Grant for Probiotics Research (YIGPRO)
2010 Senior Scholar Awards in Aging
Major Changes for NIH Grant Applications with Due Dates on or after 1/25/10

This Month's Departmental Listings

Upcoming Deadlines for January, February and March



JHM AppointmentsEmployment @ JHM | Finding a Doctor | Disclaimer | Maps & Directions | Contact JHM 


                                                                                                                                                           The Web Center