Skip Navigation
 
 
 
 
 
Print This Page
Share this page: More
 

Maryland Registration and Licensure

Maryland Registration/Licensure

A Maryland license to practice medicine is not required for trainees in the performance of postdoctoral training duties as assigned by the Chief of Service of the training program.

Maryland license to practice medicine is not required for trainees in the performance of postdoctoral training duties as assigned by the Chief of Service of the training program.

The Maryland Board of Physician Quality Assurance (BPQA) does require unlicensed medical practitioners (trainees) enrolled in postgraduate training program to register with the BPQA annually.  The registration form is to be completed during the appointment process. The Hospital will pay the annual $100.00 fee for this registration and will submit the completed forms to the Board.

Upon the expiration of your registration, you are not authorized to practice as an unlicensed practitioner in Maryland. Any person who practices medicine in Maryland without a license or registration is subject to a civil fine of not more than $50,000.00 according to the Health Occupations Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.

The Maryland Board of Physician Quality Assurance (BPQA) does require unlicensed medical practitioners (trainees) enrolled in postgraduate training program to register with the BPQA annually.  The registration form is to be completed during the appointment process. The Hospital will pay the annual $100.00 fee for this registration and will submit the completed forms to the Board.

Registration with BPQA does not permit the unlicensed medical practitioner to moonlight (practice outside their training program).  No resident or clinical fellow may moonlight without first having obtained an unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state in which the moonlighting activity is to take place.  No resident or clinical fellow may moonlight without first having been appropriately credentialled by the hospital or facility where the moonlighting is to occur.

Upon the expiration of your registration, you are not authorized to practice as an unlicensed practitioner in Maryland. Any person who practices medicine in Maryland without a license or registration is subject to a civil fine of not more than $50,000.00 according to the Health Occupations Article, Annotated Code of Maryland.

 
 
 
 
 

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.