Skip Navigation
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Hopkins Medicine Magazine - Alpha Docs

Hopkins Medicine Winter 2013

Alpha Docs

Date: February 1, 2013

Lawrence Appel, professor of medicine and director of the Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research, and Gregg Semenza, professor of pediatrics, medicine, oncology and radiation oncology, have been elected members of the Institute of Medicine, one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health.

Richard G. Bennett, professor of geriatric medicine and president of Johns Hopkins Bayview, and Andreas Barth, an internal medicine resident, have been elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society.

Harry “Hal” Dietz, III, professor of genetics and medicine in the McKusick-Nathans Institute for Genetic Medicine and a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, will receive the inaugural Taubman Prize for Excellence from the A. Alfred Taubman Medical Research Institute at the University of Michigan. Dietz will receive a $100,000 grant to further his research on aortic aneurysms and related tissue disorders.

David Feller-Kopman, associate professor and director, bronchoscopy and interventional pulmonology, has received the American Association of Bronchology and Interventional Pulmonology’s 2012 Geoffrey McLennan Memorial Award for Advances in Interventional Pulmonology.

Robert Findling has been appointed chief of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. Both a pediatrician and a child and adolescent psychiatrist, he had been director of the Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry at Case Western Reserve. He joined the faculty on December 1. 

Julie Freischlag, professor and surgeon in chief of Johns Hopkins Hospital, has been selected chair of the American College of Surgeons’ 22-member governing body, the Board of Regents.

Carol Greider, professor and director of the Department of Molecular Biology and Genetics, has been appointed by President Barack Obama to the 12-member Committee on the National Medal of Science. The scientists and engineers appointed by the president to the committee evaluate nominees for the medal, which is the nation’s highest scientific honor.

Peter Hill, associate professor and medical director of the Emergency Acute Care Unit that he created in 2001, has been promoted to vice chair of clinical affairs in the Department of Emergency Medicine. Richard Rothman, professor and director of the department’s research efforts since 2009, has been promoted to vice chair of research.

Edward McCarthy, professor of pathology and orthopedic surgery, has received one of the world’s highest honors in bone pathology and radiology: an invitation to deliver the Founder’s Lecture at a meeting of the International Skeletal Society in Rome, Italy.

Edward McFarland, vice director of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and chief of the Division of Adult Orthopaedics, has been elected president of the Association of Bone and Joint Surgeons.

Richard O’Brien, associate professor and chair of the Department of Neurology at Johns Hopkins Bayview, has been named associate dean for research there.

Linda Regan, program director of residency in the Department of Emergency Medicine, has received the American College of Emergency Physicians’ highest honor, the 2012 National Emergency Medicine Faculty Teaching Award.

Chester Schmidt, professor of psychiatry, chief medical officer of Johns Hopkins HealthCare, LLC, and medical director of the Sexual Behaviors Consultation Unit at Hopkins Hospital, has received the 2012 Lifetime of Service Award from the Maryland Psychiatric Society.

Fredric Wondisford, professor of pediatrics, has received the American Thyroid Association’s 2012 Sidney Ingebar Distinguished Lectureship Award, which recognizes significant contributions to thyroid-related research over many years.

Related Content

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy and Disclaimer