Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Second Opinion

A Primary Need

Why medical school students must be included in efforts to solve our primary care shortage.

multi-colored dome

In 2010, as the Affordable Care Act was being introduced, a controversial article was published in the Annals of Internal Medicine. It focused on how well U.S. medical schools were doing in increasing the nation’s primary care physician workforce, the number of physicians in medically underserved locations and the pool of minority physicians. Many leading academic medical centers — including Johns Hopkins — were relegated to the bottom ranks in progress toward these goals.

At the time, I was a first-year medical student at Vanderbilt, which also ranked at the bottom. I had come to medical school intent on becoming a leader in primary care, especially to underserved populations. Now I worried: Would my school’s mission to produce leaders in medical discovery through scholarly investigation eventually drown out my desires?

Fortunately, I was able to feed my interest in primary care by volunteering in a student-run clinic serving low-income patients in Nashville. There, I not only learned the intricacies of managing common medical conditions, such as diabetes mellitus, but also came to understand the challenges these patients face, such as barriers to getting the medications they need due to cost. I also saw firsthand how hard it is for patients without health insurance to obtain specialty care.

Though I sometimes got discouraged, I was heartened as I worked alongside my colleagues to find solutions and to provide excellent medical care and access to other resources. Nearly every medical student at Vanderbilt volunteered at least once at this clinic. My work there impacted my career decision to become a general internist serving low-resource populations.