Skip Navigation
Search Menu
News and Publications

In This Section      
Print This Page

Dome - Who/What

January 2012


Date: January 10, 2012


Jim Pfeiffer received certification as an associate supervisor from the Association for Clinical Pastoral Education Inc. This certification allows him to educate chaplain interns and other clinical pastoral education students about the art of providing spiritual care as part of Johns Hopkins Bayview’s accredited Clinical Pastoral Education program.

Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa, M.D., associate professor of neurosurgery and oncology and director of the Pituitary Tumor Center, was appointed to the board of trustees of Southern Vermont College.

Richard D. Zorowitz, M.D., chair of the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation at Johns Hopkins Bayview, received the Outstanding Service Award from the Central Nervous System Rehabilitation Council of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

Ginette Hinds, M.D., Tim Wang, M.D., and Colleen Christmas, M.D., were named Hometown Heroes by the Chesapeake Gateway Chamber of Commerce last Christmas Eve. These physicians took the extraordinary step of going to an elderly man’s home to perform surgery on a skin cancer tumor after it was decided that it would be too risky to transport the frail patient to the hospital.


The Creative Services Department won a 2011 Emmy Award for its “Scrub A Dub Dub” hip-hop hand hygiene video. It was the sole award winner in the Children/Youth/Teens program category. This was the fifth Emmy nomination for Creative Services staff members Bill Greene, Ann Miller and Mike Sexton, who are all winners of multiple previous Emmys. “Scrub A Dub Dub” previously earned four Telly Awards and the Mark of Excellence President’s Award of the Florida Society for Healthcare Marketing and Public Relations.


Howard County General Hospital received national attention with the visit of Johns Hopkins Professor of Surgery  Pamela Lipsett, M.D., president of the Society of Critical Care Medicine and in a special ceremony on Dec. 7, Lipsett presented the ICU team with an award from the Department of Health and Human Services and Critical Care Societies Collaborative National Awards Program to Recognize Achievements in Eliminating Healthcare-Associated Infections.

Notable Nurses

Lillie Shockney, R.N., B.S., M.A.S., administrative director of the Johns Hopkins Avon Breast Center, was selected as this year’s “Amazing Nurse” in Johnson & Johnson’s national contest to celebrate and reward nurses’ value. The contest is sponsored by the Johnson & Johnson Campaign for Nursing Future.

Cindy Walker, R.N., B.S.N, has been named the Mid-Atlantic Region Wound Ostomy and Continence Nurses Society’s Nurse of the Year for 2011. Walker works as a wound care specialist at Johns Hopkins Bayview.

Jacqueline Schulz, R.N., M.S.N., executive vice president and chief operating officer of Suburban Hospital, is one of the inaugural recipients of the Washingtonian’s Excellence in Nursing Awards, which, according to the magazine, “honor registered nurses who go beyond the call of duty to protect, preserve and enhance the well-being of their patients and our community.”

Ronald Wardrope, R.N., received the 2012 Association for Radiologic and Imaging Nursing Radiology Nurse of the Year Award, the highest honor bestowed by the organization. Wardrope works in radiology at the Johns Hopkins Children’s Center.

Related Content

Find Physicians Specializing In...