Skip Navigation
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Types of Gliomas

Grades of glioma:

How serious a glioma is depends on its grade. The grade (I to IV) is based on what the tumor cells look like under a microscope (its pathology). Grade I is the least serious and grade IV is the most serious. Gliomas are classified by whether they are low-grade (I or II) — slow or relatively slow growing, or high-grade (III or IV) – malignant, with fast growth and spread into normal brain tissue.

Types of gliomas:

Gliomas are also classified by the type of cells they affect. The types of glioma are:

Signs and symptoms of a glioma:

Gliomas cause symptoms by pressing on the brain or spinal cord. The most common symptoms are:

  • Headaches
  • Seizures
  • Personality changes
  • Weakness in the arms or legs
  • Numbness

Other symptoms include:

  • Nausea and vomiting
  • Vision loss

Symptoms of glioma appear slowly and may be slight at first. Some gliomas do not cause any symptoms and might be diagnosed when the patient sees the doctor about something else.

To make an appointment or request a consultation, contact the Johns Hopkins Glioma Center at 410-955-6406.


© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.