Skip Navigation
Johns Hopkins HealthCare LLC
In This Section      
Print This Page

Share this page:

ICD-10 Transition

Change from ICD-9 to ICD-10 Codes

The transition from ICD-9 to ICD0-10 codes has been delayed. No definitive date has been set for this change but it will be no earlier than October 1, 2015. We will update you once a new date has been announced, but in the meantime will continue to work with providers on testing.
Once this change occurs, it will be mandated by federal law that ICD-10 codes must be used on all HIPAA transactions. This includes diagnosis codes on outpatient and inpatient claims with dates of service (or discharge) on or after the date of the transition. This change is happening as a result of Meaningful Use initiative that aims to improve the delivery of health care by using Health Information Technology and assist in the transition of information exchange via national Electronic Medical Records. Health care has changed greatly since ICD-9-CM was first published in 1979.  ICD-10 coding – which has a similar format, structure, and code assignment as ICD-9 – uses 7th digit characters which allows for far greater specificity.
So what is your practice doing to prepare for this change?   Have you spoken with your EHR (Electronic Health Record)/EMR (Electronic Medical Record) vendors, billing vendors, EDI Trading partners (ie, Emdeon, RelayHealth, XactiMed) or your larger medical payors?   You may want to also visit or for additional information.

© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy and Disclaimer