Skip Navigation
Print This Page
Share this page: More

2013 Education Award Winners

Lifetime Achievement in Education Award
The Martin D. Abeloff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Medical and Biomedical Education

Outstanding Achievement in Education Awards
- Lisa J. Heiser Award for Junior Faculty Contribution in Education
- Teaching Awards
- Educational Innovation Award
- Educational Program Award

The Martin D. Abeloff Award for Lifetime Achievement in Medical and Biomedical Education

This is the most distinguished of the IEE's awards and is meant to recognize a lifetime of achievement. It is awarded by the IEE Board of Directors to recognize that achievement.

David Nichols
David Nichols


David G. Nichols, MD, MBA

President and CEO of the American Board of Pediatrics
Past Vice Dean for Education, JHUSOM



Back to top

Outstanding Achievement in Education Awards

The IEE offers peer nominated and peer reviewed awards to recognize outstanding achievement in education. Awards are given at the annual IEE/SOM Education Conference and Celebration. Each award winner receives a certificate, and a $1000 honorarium.

The Lisa J. Heiser Award for Junior Faculty Contribution in Education

This award is named in honor of Lisa J. Heiser, MA, NCC, LCPC, Assistant Dean for Faculty Development and Equity, Johns Hopkins Medicine. Lisa was the embodiment of what makes Johns Hopkins Medicine special; smart and multi-talented, combining fierce tenacity and commitment with tremendous personal warmth, friendliness and collegiality. In the short time that Lisa served as an assistant dean, she developed an impressive portfolio of programs and initiatives that have transcended the founding vision of her office, fostering the development of all faculty members. The Heiser award is given to one junior faculty member, on faculty five years or less, who has made an outstanding contribution in medical and biomedical education, and shown great promise for future meaningful contributions.

Stephen Sozio
Stephen Sozio


Stephen Sozio, MD, MHS, FASN

Assistant Professor, Medicine, Divsion of Nephrology
Associate Faculty, Welch Center for Prevention, Epidemiology and Clinical Research


 Back to top


More than 10 Years on Faculty
Susan Lehmann
Susan Lehmann
Associate Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Day Hospital Program
Director, Geriatric Psychiatry Clinic at Johns Hopkins Hospital
Director, Psychiatric Clerkship
Co-Director, Psychogeriatric Clinic, Johns Hopkins
Fewer than 10 Years on Faculty
Robert Dudas
Robert Dudas

Robert A. Dudas, MD

Assistant Professor, Pediatrics
Attending Pediatrician, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center and Johns Hopkins Hospital
Director, Pediatric Hospitalist Program, Johns Hopkins Baview Medical Center



Educational Innovation

Deborah Schwengel
Deborah Schwengel

Deborah Schwengel, MD

Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology, Critical Care Medicine and Pediatrics
Program Director, Anesthesiology Residency

For an innovative approach to restructuring and revitalizing the Anesthesiology Residency Program


Educational Program

Henry E. Fessler, MD

Associate Professor, Medicine, Director, Fellowship Program in Pulmonary and Critical Care

R. Scott Stephens, MD

Assistant Professor, Medicine, Co-Director, Fellowship Program in Pulmonary and Critical Care

Bradford Winters, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Medicine, Associate Director, Fellowship Program in Pulmonary and Critical Care

Rebecca Aslakson, MD, MSci

Assistant Professor, Medicine, Anesthesiology and Critical Care and Palliative Care

Susan Immelt, PhD, RN

Professor, Nursing, Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing

Advanced Clerkship in Critical Care Medicine: This innovative and unique medical student clerkship was initiated in May, 2011, as part of the new Genes‐to‐Society curriculum. Although most medical schools have elective rotations in critical care units, Johns Hopkins is one of the few, perhaps the only one, that has made this a requirement for graduation. Furthermore, it is one of only three clerkships (along with a sub‐internship and chronic care/disability) required for all our students in the fourth year. 

Back to top

Please contact us if you or someone you know has received a teaching or educational award or received recognition, by sending us a message with all the details.


© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.