Skip Navigation
Print This Page
Share this page: More

Our Leadership

On September 22nd, 2009, Dr. Edward Miller, then Dean of the Medical Faculty and CEO of Johns Hopkins Medicine and Dr. David G. Nichols, then Vice Dean for Education announced the creation of the School of Medicine’s Institute for Excellence in Education (IEE), naming Associate Professor of Medicine Joseph Cofrancesco Jr., M.D., M.P.H., F.A.C.P., as its inaugural director.

Dr. Cofrancesco, whom the Deans acknowledged as “one of our most respected educators and clinicians at Hopkins,” directs the IEE toward fulfilling its charge to “lead the way by developing methods to measure and critically evaluate teaching and educational programs, set standards, inspire and support new educational techniques, methods and technologies, encourage educational scholarship, and give value to and reward the teaching done by all faculty.”

On July 10, 2014, Dr. Cofrancesco was named the inagural Johns Hopkins Institute for Excellence in Education Professor of Medicine.

School of Medicine Leadership

Paul Rothman

Paul B. Rothman, M.D.

Francis Watt Baker, M.D. and Lenox D. Baker, Jr., M.D.
Dean of the Medical Faculty,
Chief Executive Officer of Johns Hopkins Medicine


Roy Ziegelstein

Roy C. Ziegelstein, M.D., M.A.C.P.

Sarah Miller Coulson and Frank L. Coulson, Jr., Professor of Medicine
Vice Dean for Education, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Director, Swami Institute for International Medical Education
Executive Vice Chairman, Department of Medicine, Johns Hopkins Bayview Medical Center


IEE Leadership

Dr. Cofrancesco

Joseph Cofrancesco Jr., M.D., M.P.H, F.A.C.P.

Associate Professor, Medicine
Johns Hopkins Institute for Excellence in Education Professor of Medicine
Director, Institute for Excellence in Education

View More


© The Johns Hopkins University, The Johns Hopkins Hospital, and Johns Hopkins Health System. All rights reserved.