Welcome to the Devreotes Laboratory
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Department of Cell Biology
725 N. Wolfe St., 114 WBSB
Baltimore, MD 21205

Home     Research     CV     Publications     Members

Links     Videos     Contact Us    
Cell Biology Website

Past Trainees
Tit-Yee Wong    
(postdoctoral fellow: 1981-1983)   
Professor, Biology Department
University of Memphis
Donna Fontana   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1982-1986)   
Associate Professor, Department of Microbiology   
University of Minnesota
Barry Knox  
(postdoctoral fellow: 1984-1985)   
Professor, Department of Biochemistry
SUNY, Upstate Medical University
Anne Theibert
(Pre- and Postdoctoral fellow: 1981-1985)   
Associate Professor, Department of Neurobiology
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Catherine Berlot   
(MD-PhD predoctoral fellow:1983-1985
 via collaboration with James Spudich)   
Staff Scientist   
Weis Center for Research, Geisinger Clinic
Peter Klein   
(MD-PhD predoctoral fellow: 1984-1988)   
(Ehrlich Award for Thesis Research)   
Associate Professor of Medicine 
Associate Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology
University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine
Roxanne Vaughan   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1986-1989)   
Associate Professor
Dept. of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
University of North Dakota
Pamela Lilly McNelis   
(predoctoral fellow: 1987-1994)
Previously Staff Scientist at ChemDex
Currently Homemaker
Maureen Brandon   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1986-1991)   
Fort Lewis College
Robert Gundersen   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1986-1991)   
Associate Professor
Department of Microbio & Mol. Biol. 
University of Maine
T. Julia Sun   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1987-1990)
Staff Scientist, Industry Research, Taiwan
Ronald L. Johnson    
(predoctoral fellow: 1987-1992)   
Team Leader
NIH Chemical Genomics Center
Geoffrey Pitt   
(predoctoral fellow: 1988-1993)   
(Ehrlich Award for Thesis)   
Associate Professor of Medicine
Director, Ion Channel Research Unit
Duke University Medical Center
Lijun Wu   
(postdoctoral fellow:1991-1994)   
Vice President, Biology
Concert Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Robert Insall   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1992-1995)   
(Postdoctoral Research Award)
Senior Group Leader
Professor of Genetics of Cell Biology
CR-UK Beatson Institute for Cancer Research
Michael Caterina   
(MD-PhD predoctoral fellow: 1991-1995)   
(Searle, Pew, Beckman Award)
Associate Professor
Department of Biological Chemistry
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Dale Hereld   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1989-1995)   
Program Director, NIH/NIAAA
Division of Metabolism and Health Effects
Jacqueline Milne   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1991-1996)   
Principal Investigator, NIH, NCI
Laboratory of Cell Biology
Ji-Yun Kim    
(predoctoral fellow: 1989-1997)
Senior Research Scientist
Bayer Healthcare
Mei-Yu Chen   
(predoctoral fellow: 1992-1997)   
Associate Professor   
Institute of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology  
National Yang-Ming University, Taipei, Taiwan
Brenda Blacklock   
(postdoctoral fellow: 1995-1997)   
Adjunct Assistant Professor/Research Associate
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry   
Miami University of Ohio
Zhan Xiao
(predoctoral fellow: 1994-1999)
Associate Research Investigator
Abbott Laboratories in Chicago, IL
Misook Kim
(postdoctoral fellow 1998-1999)
Homemaker, Korea
Yihong Yao
(postdoctoral fellow 1997-2000)
Senior Scientist
Abbott Bioresearch Center
Carole Parent
(postdoctoral fellow: 1994-2000)
Senior Investigator, NCI, NIH
Laboratory of Cellular and Molecular Biology
Saskia Van Es   
(postdoctoral fellow:1996-2000)
Lecturer, Division of Cell Biology
The Netherlands Cancer Institute
Tian Jin
(postdoctoral fellow: 1994-2001)
Principal Investigator, NIAID, NIH
Laboratory of Immunogenetics
Ning Zhang
(Predoctoral Fellow: 1996-2001)
Chief, Laboratory of Translational Cancer Biology
Tianjin Research Ctr for Basic Med. Sciences
Tianjin Medical University
Jeffrey Keefer
(Research Fellow: 2001)
Clinical Fellow, Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
Johns Hopkins Hospital
James Silverman   
(Predoctoral Fellow: 1997-2004)
Educator, Boys Latin School of Maryland 
 Yi Elaine Huang
(Predoctoral Fellow: 1999-2004)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Joslin Diabetes Center
Harvard Medical School
Carol Manahan
(Postdoctoral Fellow: 2000-2004)
Associate Director
Scientific Education and Review
Novartis Institutes for Biomedical Research
Chris Janetopoulos
(Postdoctoral Fellow & Research Associate:  2000-2004)
Assistant Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
Vanderbilt University
Mark Landree
(Postdoctoral Fellow: 2000-2005)
GenBank Biologist, NCBI/NIH
ComputerCraft, Inc. 
Miho Iijima
(Postdoctoral Fellow & Research Associate: 2000-2006)
Assistant Professor
Department of Cell Biology
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Lingfeng Chen
(Predoctoral Fellow 2001-2007)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Department of Cell Biology
University of Virginia School of Medicine
Linnan Tang
(Predoctoral Fellow: 1999-2007)
Postdoctoral Fellow

Department of Genetics
Harvard Medical School
Francisca (Paquita) Vazquez  
(Research Associate: 2002-2006)
Research Scientist
Department of Cell Biology
Dana Farber Cancer Institute
Sandra de Keijzer
(Postdoctoral Fellow: 2006-2007)
Assistant Professor
University of Wurzburg
Stacey Willard, Ph.D.
(Postdoctoral Fellow 2005-2009)
Senior Scientist, AndroBioSys, Inc.
Jonathan Franca-Koh
(Postdoctoral Fellow 2003-2009)
Staff Scientist
J. Craig Ventor Institute
Josephine Lee
(Predoctoral Fellow -[Master's program] 2009-2010)
Hong Kong (position unknown)
Meghdad Rahdar
(Predoctoral Fellow 2005-2010)
Postdoctoral Fellow
Stem Cell Biology and Regenerative Medicine Institute
Stanford University
Yoichiro Kamimura
(Postdoctoral Fellow 2004-2011)
RIKEN in Japan

 Visiting Scientists to the Lab

Chuck Brogan

Calin Vasilu
Medical Student
Wendy Froehlich
Medical Student, University of Chicago
Karin Weening
Predoctoral Student, University of Dundee
Peter Van Haastert
University of Groningen
Sally Zigmond
University of Pennsylvania
Pauline Schaap
University of Dundee
Michelle Zavage
(JHU Homewood undergraduate)
Harriet Loovers
University of Groningen
Yolanda Calle
King's College London
Daniel Legler
University of Konstanz
Min Zhao
University of Aberdeen
Bing Song
University of Aberdeen

Thomas Hynes
Weis Center for Research in Pennsylvania