Skip Navigation
Search Menu

Print This Page
Share this page: More

Srinivasa Naga Raja, MD

Srinivasa Naga Raja, MD

Department of Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine

The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
600 North Wolfe St., Osler 292
Baltimore, MD 21287
Phone: 410-955-1822
Fax: 410-614-2019
Download CV

Srinivasa N. Raja, MD, is professor in the department of Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine, professor of Neurology, and director of Pain Research and the Division of Pain Medicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine.

Dr. Raja received his early medical training in India, his residency training in Anesthesiology at the University of Washington, Seattle, and postdoctoral training at the University of Virginia School of Medicine. He was awarded the Diplomate of the American Board of Anesthesiology in 1982, added Qualifications in Pain Management in 1993, and was recertified in 2002.

Clinical interests of Dr. Raja’s include management of chronic neuropathic pain states, such as sympathetically maintained pain and complex regional pain syndromes (CRPS, causalgia), postherpetic neuralgia, and post-amputation pain. His recent research efforts are aimed at understanding the peripheral and central mechanisms of neuropathic pain and determining the role of opioid and adrenergic receptor mechanisms in mediating or maintaining chronic neuropathic pain states. He has also conducted controlled clinical trials to develop better evidence-based practices for the pharmacological treatment of neuropathic pain.

In 1993, Dr. Raja joined the editorial board of the journal Anesthesiology as an Associate Editor and subsequently served as an Editor from 1998 to 2006. He established the section “Classic Papers Revisited” in 2000, for which he served as the Section Editor. He was an Associate Editor for the journal Pain, a member of the FDA scientific advisory panel for The Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (CDER), and a member of the executive committee of the Initiative on Methods, Measurement, and Pain Assessment in Clinical Trials (IMMPACT). He is presently on the editorial boards of Pain Medicine, Pain Management, and the Scandinavian Journal of Pain. Dr. Raja was a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee for the World Congress on Pain from 2008 to 2012. He was elected as the Secretary of the Neuropathic Pain Special Interest Group (NeuPSIG) of the International Association for the Study of Pain.

Dr. Raja and his collaborators have been funded for more than 20 years by the NIH for their basic science and clinical research and have published more than 130 original articles in peer-reviewed journals such as: Anesthesia and Analgesia, Anesthesiology, Brain, European Journal of Pain, Journal of Neurophysiology, Journal of Neuroscience, Lancet, Neurology, Pain, and Science. He is an editor of five books and has written numerous book chapters. He has been invited to lecture both nationally and internationally and has been invited as a visiting professor to several universities. His honors include the 14th annual Benjamin G. Covino lecture at Harvard University and the John J. Bonica lecture at the University of Washington. He was the recipient of the Wilbert E. Fordyce Clinical Investigator Award from the American Pain Society in May 2008 and the prestigious John J. Bonica Award from the American Society of Regional Anesthesia and Pain Medicine in November 2010.

Professional Activities

  • American Pain Society
  • American Society of Anesthesiologists
  • Association of University Anesthesiologists
  • International Association for the Study of Pain
  • Society for Neuroscience
  • Amputee Coalition of America
  • Reflex Sympathetic Dystrophy Association of America

Selected Publications

  1. Chu Y-C, Guan Y, Skinner J, Raja SN, Johns RA, Tao Y-X. Effect of genetic knockout or pharmacologic inhibition of neuronal nitric oxide synthase on complete Freund's adjuvant-induced persistent pain. Pain 119(1–3):113–23, 2005.
  2. Lin EE, Horasek S, Agarwal S, Wu CL, Raja SN. Local administration of norepinephrine in the stump evokes dose-dependent pain in amputees. Clin J Pain 22(5):482–6, 2006.
  3. Guan Y, Borzan J, Meyer RA, Raja SN.  Windup in dorsal horn neurons is modulated by endogenous spinal mu-opioid mechanisms. J Neurosci 26(16):4298–307, 2006.
  4. Kudel I, Edwards R, Kozachik S, Block BM, Agarwal S, Heinberg LJ, Haythorthwaite J, Raja SN. Predictors and consequences of multiple persistent post-mastectomy pains. J Pain Symptom Manage 34(6):619–27, 2007.
  5. Guan Y, Johanek LM, Hartke TV, Shim B, Tao YX, Ringkamp M, Meyer RA, Raja SN. Peripherally acting mu-opioid receptor agonist attenuates neuropathic pain in rats after L5 spinal nerve injury. Pain 138(2):318–329, 2008.
  6. Wu CL, Raja SN. An update on the treatment of postherpetic neuralgia. J Pain 9(1 Suppl 1):S19–30, 2008.

Laboratory/Members/Key Associates

Lab Manager
Alene Carteret, MS

Faculty/Research Associates/Instructors
Jasenka Borzan, PhD
Yun Guan, MD, PhD
Yuan-Xiang Tao, MD, PhD

Richard A. Meyer, MS, and Matthias Ringkamp, MD, PhD
Department of Neurosurgery, Johns Hopkins University
Michael J. Caterina, MD, PhD
Department of Biological Chemistry, Johns Hopkins University
Sarah M. Sweitzer, PhD, and Steven P. Wilson, PhD
University of South Carolina


  • National Research Service Award, National Institute of General Medical Sciences
  • University of Virginia (1979–1981)
  • Outstanding Teacher Award, Department of Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine
  • Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (1982–1983)
  • Citation Poster Award, American Pain Society (2000)
  • Selected for Marquis Who’s Who in Medicine and Healthcare, 4th ed. (2002)
  • Benjamin G. Covino Lecture at Harvard Medical School (2007)
  • Wilbert Fordyce Clinical Investigator Award and Lecturer, American Pain Society (2008)
  • John J. Bonica Award (2010)